We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ohia

Cafe Ohia
194005 Haunani Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808-985-8587
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

We had breakfast this morning and got sandwiches to take out for our hike in the park. Everything was delicious and the woman who helped us was just the nicest person!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

If you've got the hangries after viewing the volcano - leave the park and head to Cafe Ohia on the old road just outside. They serve generous portions of quiche and a half sandwich is definitely big enough for one. All served by charming young ladies who were super patient with obsessive foodies ahead of us with some very taxing digestive problems. I think you get the picture.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“generous portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

lots of pork on the day we were there, generous size sandwiches, a half sandwich was enough! the pork was well cooked, fall-apart type pork.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Slow Service but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

My husband and I stopped here to grab a sandwich and head back to the park, not expecting to wait almost 20 minutes for a simple roast beef sandwich to be made. One sandwich was more than big enough for us to split as the sandwiches are huge. They are pretty tasty as well. If you're short on time find somewhere else to eat, but if not give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“super nice people running this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We ate here twice. The sandwiches and salads are excellent. Breakfast is good, too. The prices are reasonable. It is just outside the national park. Locals come here, as well as visitors and, as I said in the title, the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ohia also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Ohia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ohia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.