We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ohia

Cafe Ohia
194005 Haunani Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808-985-8587
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hearty food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cafe Ohia is a great place to get a meal when in the Volcano area. I stopped for lunch on my first day and had a half sandwich with some mac salad. The half sandwich was huge and comes with your choice of meat, cheese and whatever veggies you want off the list. I could not eat the entire thing. I also had a fish sandwich for dinner. The fish was grilled and very tasty. A great little place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pomona, new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dependable local cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped here for lunch twice while visiting Volcano National Park. The sandwich was a big sized portion and good, also had a bagel which was fresh and had a few different kinds. Another day, we ordered the one of the specials, a fish sandwhich w/potatio salad and it was very good. All the prices here are reasonable; as most other reveiws have mentioned, very limited options for meals in this area so I am glad we found Cafe Ohia. Also had a slice of chocolate mousse cake to go and it was awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a great place! You order food inside and grab a seat outside. Try to get under the roof in case it rains. The food is outstanding. We ate there everyday 'cause you can't do any better.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best large sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went out for a picknick in the park, so we bought us a supersandwich.. which was really superlarge! Let's just say: we didn't go hungry :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a little spot near Volcanoes National Park. We found it on Urban Spoon and almost missed it because it isn't very obvious. All dining is outside and they have daily specials that were really good. The food is home cooked style which was nice after having several days of expensive restaurant food. Great stop near the park.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ohia also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Ohia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ohia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.