We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe' Ono

Cafe' Ono
19-3834 Old Volcano Road., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
808.985.8979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Café Ono is a vibrant, ecologically sound, dining experience in an old Hawaiian garden estate. We feature: •Hearty soups•Fresh organic salads•Savory sandwiches•High tea•Gourmet desserts•Locally grown coffee & teaCatering is available. We can also host your meetings and special events.Come by for a delicious meal or pick up a picnic lunch to go!Lunch 11:00 am–3:00 pmCoffee · Tea · Desserts 10:00 am–4:00 pm
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I couldn't wait to eat here after reading the views but honestly my food was just ok. I had soup with curry and it was just to strong.. It actually tasted bitter.. The chili was good.
Not much for children on the menu.. They did agree to make grilled cheese but it came on seeded bread and my child is allergic( not their fault) but we would have eaten elsewhere had we known.
The cafe is cute and the staff very friendly, and we enjoyed looking at the beautiful arts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    68
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, Souvenirs Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I have stopped in multiple times looking at all the great stuff Ira has for sale. Quality art, jewelry, Items from under 5$ to $$$, but high quality, all of it. Now and then we eat at the cafe'. The portions are a little small for us, but very delicious. A great place to browse for that "one-of-a-kind" memento of your hawaiian vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and yummy healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

had lunch there recently and we had a lovely experience. i ordered the 4 cheeses quiche (which came with a salad, homemade bread and a mushroom/seaweed soup that was excellent) and my husband the vegetarian lasagna (which also came with salad, bread and a lentils soup). food was fresh, well cooked and presented and.... yummy. the place has a great atmosphere... it's an old house in a garden filled with sculptures, bonsai and other decorations..... a great feel. there is also a shop/gallery with local art and crafts. a very nice spot overall.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

While staying in Volcano, my mom and I had lunch at Café Ono twice. It is such a pleasant place to stop in, have a meal, and browse for gifts in the gallery. Local artists and yummy vegetarian food all in one lovely, verdant location! We had the quiche, the sweet potato casserole, and the lasagna (over two days), all of which were lovingly prepared and wonderfully satisfying. It kept us going while exploring Volcanoes National Park and out to the black sand beach where the green sea turtles hang out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Paradis on a Volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious vegetarian lunch in the garden, by the pond. A nearby goat was our entertainment. The service was friendly, and setting amazing. very rustic, but inviting. They have wonderful crafts and art for sale, I bought a beautiful woven fuchsia scarf. Great lunch spot when touring Kilauea. Not expensive. Delightful place. Note, it is in the town of Volcano at the east end, about 5 minutes from the park entrance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Ono also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe' Ono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe' Ono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.