We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Forest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Forest Inn to your Saves list
Volcano Forest Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19-4034 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Somerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location-very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place is the perfect spot to stay overnight while visiting the crater. Not only was it so close, it was sooo cozy and clean.
The room was big. Breakfast in the am was great and the staff (young lady and gentlemen) were very accommodating and super nice. They made my husband and I feel like family.
We stayed there in mid April. It was a bit chilly, so dress accordingly for the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
85
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Park and the small volcano village. The entire house is very new, and the rooms because of this are extremely spacious. The rooms are kept very clean and the beds + linens are comfy and clean as well. The location is very close to the Park (5 min drive) and also near some great restaurants in the village area.

Breakfast every day was pancakes with half of papaya, some cut up banana, and a rambutan fruit. Not the biggest breakfast but very fresh and tasty. Coffee, tea and juices were also available.

Some nice touches were little chocolates in the bedroom upon our check-in, body soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers, Wi-Fi throughout the house, and flashlights + umbrellas you could borrow for walks and such (the lane way to the house is unlit).

We had a great stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Nicky and Dan were great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hosts here were very friendly and helpful. The location is nice and set a good ways back from the main road, and the room was large, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was convenient and delicious, and we got to meet some interesting folks who were also staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and our two kids stayed here for a night while visiting Volcanoes National Park. The Inn is very close to the park and located in a beautiful rain forest setting. Room was clean and large. Breakfast consisted of banana pancakes, fresh fruit, and banana bread which was all delicious. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

There is a reason why this was the only place available to book for our dates near the Volcano. The rooms are very large. Decorated in garage sale motif. Clean sparse room, but watered down soap, and ancient half hanging filthy curtains. Bed pillows were like sofa back cushions. We were tired after a day at the volcano. Very difficult to get away from talkative Carlos. Good for a place to crash near the Volcano with a touch of creepy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were staying just one night in Volcano and didn't want to spend over $200 for a room. We made our reservation at the Volcano Forest Inn as part of a package deal with airfare and car rental through Priceline.

The road to the inn is just a few tire tracks on the grass - look closely for the sign. We had lots of birds on our path each time we drove. Very much like a nature preserve.

The inn itself is an amazing site back in the forest. There were a few chickens running around too. They just really need to make it easier to find.

We had a room off of the front deck, which was nice because we could leave without going through the kitchen/living area. The front door has a new electronic lock with a crazy code to punch in. Very secure but confusing to use.

We had 2 double beds which were ok but made a lot of noise - I'm guessing that they have a plastic protective wrap on them. Pillows were a little harder than I like, but I'm a stomach sleeper and picky

Our room was chilly in the evening but didn't turn on the little heater until bed time. By then, the room was cool and damp feeling. We went to sleep and the bed just felt wet - but after a few hours, that was fixed. We should have just turned the heater on earlier because that made everything really cozy.

I was a little disappointed that we didn't get the lectures about saving electricity or imminent blackouts - but there weren't many other guests, so maybe it's only a worry when the inn is full.

The shower and bathroom were clean, but the hand soap was empty. We used the convenient shower gel (and shampoo) dispenser from the shower instead.

Lots of fresh towels were in our room. The shower water never really got hot, but it was warm enough and lasted for 3 of us to get clean after climbing on the lava flows. The mini-fridge was very nice to keep drinks cool in our room.

There is a small grocery store with a gas pump up the road about 1/2 mile. We had fun looking around that place and finding little treasures - I walked out with $25 of snacks for our hike in a beer box.

Overall, a decent hotel and better priced than many other options in Volcano. Very convenient to the national park. We had to leave early so we didn't get to have breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We flew into Hilo and stayed in the Volcano area for two nights to fully enjoy the Volcano National Park. We moved on to the Kailua Kona side for the rest of our trip and departed from Kona airport. Volcano Forest Inn is less than 5 minutes away from the park. You can't beat the location for exploring the park. The inn still had their holiday lights on the signage from the road so we were able to find the inn easily, even though it was very dark. Just know that it is right next door to the US Post office and you'll find it ok. We loved driving into the rainforest to discover a large house down the bumpy driveway. Dan was the innkeeper and he was attentive to our requests. We stayed in the Rain Forest Room which had a king bed. It had a small fridge (not working?), walk in closet, dining table and a private balcony. We liked the newly renovated room, however it was very cold at night. We could not figure out how to turn on the heater. Mid stay, our lights would not work in the bath. The electricity was very sensitive as we learned another couple blew out something with their hair dryer. Dan had the electrician come out the next day, but it could not be resolved so he moved us into another room which had two queens, large walk in, not so private balcony. That was fine with us since it was for only one more night. The breakfast was nice, fresh coffee, fruit and pastries, waffle one day and pan cake another day. The only real complaint we had was the room was so damp and smelled like mold. I imagine that being in the middle of the rain forest makes it difficult to combat the moisture. The bed, blankets and towels all felt damp! Other than the mold smell, which was more apparent in the Rain Forest room than the room we moved to next door, I think this inn is a good base camp for the main attraction in the area which is the Volcano National Park.

Room Tip: Rain Forest Room has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Forest Inn

Address: 19-4034 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Forest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the restorative nature of The Big Island of Hawaii’s rain forest and volcanic activity and beauty. Tucked back amidst five tranquil acres, Volcano Forest Inn offers four spacious rooms with rain forest views. Refresh and revive after a hike in Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park in your spacious room and shower with clean, soft rainwater. Awake to honeycreeper birds singing in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Volcano Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Forest Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.