We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect studio cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Places
Save
You added Volcano Places to your Saves list
P.O. Box 159, Volcano, HI 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect studio cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Kate's Cottage for 3 nights while we explored Volcano National Park. It was quiet, charming and beautifully situated in the midst of the rain forest. We enjoyed having our breakfast on the lanai and listening to the birds. Kathryn was a wealth of information on the area and had good suggestions and recommendations. She is a great hostess and enjoys chatting to her guests. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Kate's Volcano Cottage. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was convenient to have the fridge, microwave and stove to make some light breakfast. The host provided great information. We'd recommend this cottage!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Nohea cottage for 5 nights during our honeymoon in mid-October 2013.  It was beautiful, and Kathryn was very pleasant, accommodating, and informative from the booking process through the actual stay…without being overbearing.  This isn’t a traditional B&B, in that no meals are served, but the cottage was stocked with basics…coffee, tea, sugar, creamer, condiments, etc.  We prefer to venture out for breakfast anyway.  The cottage itself was perfect for our needs…large yet cozy, private and quiet.  It was very clean, and we didn’t see any bugs, despite being in a rainforest.  Amenities included cable TV w/DVD player, books and DVDs on the area, ipod with various genres including Hawaiian (which you could also hook your own mp3 player up to), coffee maker, full fridge, stove/oven, microwave, king bed, gas fireplace, multiple angle shower, covered deck in back surrounded by the forest, etc.   The hot tub was put to good use after long days of sightseeing and hiking in the park (we were lucky that it reopened 1 day into our stay).  HVNP is literally a mile or so away, and the quaint village of Volcano is even closer…with several good restaurants (especially Volcano Lodge), convenience store, and obscenely expensive gas station.  This is definitely a good centralized base for exploring the whole area between Hilo, Pahoa, HVNP and Punalu’u.  We did not see any of the other units, but can only assume that they are maintained with the same great care.  Nohea cottage was a perfect spot for the start of our honeymoon, before moving on to Kona/Kohala.  Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arubatraveller
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in Volcano Places in Kahi Malu for two nights. We decided to fly into Kona and leave from Hilo in order to avoid driving both ways in one day, and this cottage gave us perfect access to the area. We are a family of four, with 2 children ages 8 and 10. Before we even arrived Kathryn was a tremendous hostess. She provided us with extensive information including driving directions, suggested itineraries, and tons of info about Volcano Park. It was like having an expert adviser in advance. When we got there not only did she give us a full tour of the cottage, but she went over maps, hikes, and gave us an update on the conditions. It was truly invaluable.

The cottage had two bedrooms and was very comfortable - between the heated mattress pads, the dvd player with movies, and the supply of foil, coffee, condiments, etc. we couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was one of the best stays we ever had. Kate’s Cottage was a very large unit with a very good equipped kitchen. The lanai was very pretty. A table and chairs to sit and eat outside. It was very quiet. The host was very friendly. Everything was very clean and well-tended. It was a very lovely stay in midst the rainforest. I would definitively stay here again whenever I am in Hawaii.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My aunt and I stayed here for one night while visiting Volcanoes National Park. Kathryn was very helpful; she seemed to know everything about the area. The bungalow was excellent, clean and cozy, and outfitted with everything you could possibly need on your trip to the park. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wow, we stayed for two nights with our kids in the two-bedroom cottage. It was better equipped than any rental we have ever been in. Complete with games, toys, coloring for the kids, music, DVD's of the volcano area, maps, and a kitchen with more amenities than we have at home. Fully stocked with breakfast items, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, etc too. Kathryn is a fountain of knowledge, take the time to listen to her explain the history and geography. She also sent us tons of information on the area before we arrived so we could make the most of our time.

We loved the cottage, a lovely updated 60's bungalow with the original koa wood floors and thoughtful renovation. It was obviously a labor of love for them to rebuild these buildings, custom cabinetry and lots of attention to detail.

And Kathryn has really deluxe sheets and pillows...so comfy. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for the deluxe Nohea if you want a romantic nest. It's a piece of art! For families, Kah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Address: P.O. Box 159, Volcano, HI 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Places, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.