We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonable cottage very close to Volcano park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Places
Save
You added Volcano Places to your Saves list
P.O. Box 159, Volcano, HI 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Volcano B&B and Inns
Utica, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great reasonable cottage very close to Volcano park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here during our honeymoon before heading to Kona. Kathryn was very nice and informative. I "poor reviewer" stated that she left difficult directions or something to that effect. Either that person must not be very smart or Kathryn only gives directions to some people and not others, my guess is the prior. The owners were in constant email contact. The directions were EXACT, to the tenth of a mile. I even turned off the GPS and had my wife read the email and we were sent directly to the doorstep.
The park is VERY close to this place so it was convenient. Beware that the town is pretty remote with a convenience store and a couple restaurants but not much else. Luckily the cottages have pots, pans, coffee, etc so you can cook there.
On our third night there was a problem with our cottage that was beyond the owners control. She immediately booked us a room at another local inn which gave us a lot of peace of mind, we were very happy that she accommodated us in such a way. The only reason I said very good instead of excellent was that we did see some small areas with mold in the bathroom. It was not a big deal and I certainly understand that it is a moist rainforest. Other than that the accommodation was extremely CLEAN and NEAT!

Room Tip: Buy groceries before you drive into town because you will pay for convenience at local store when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first visit to The Big Island. We were booked at one of the resorts on the Kohala Coast and it looked like a long drive to the Volcano area. I decided to book a rental in the Volcano area for 3 nights and then go to the resort area for the last 4 nights. It was the best decision, we flew into Kona and drove 3 hrs to Volcano Places. Kathryn was there to greet us and was extremely friendly and helpful. The cottage was in a great area, clean, and comfortable. Kathryn was there to show us the cottage but even more important she gave us suggestions and share her knowledge of the Volcano area which made our visit even better. Not a lot of restaurants. The Lava Rock Cafe has a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I first stayed at Volcano Places in 2010; I returned in April 2013. Volcano is a hamlet just a couple of minutes from the entrance to Hawai'i Volcanos National Park. The town is in the Hawaiian rain forest, at about 3500 feet, such that it does not get hot and there is always plenty of shade. We stayed in the Bungalow, a lovely and very comfortable cottage with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, a sleep sofa (futon), and a lovely little deck opening into the forest. The town is about 30 miles from Hilo (itself a very laid back, pleasant place) and, in the other direction, about 20 miles away from black sand beaches and some of the southern coffee plantations. Not convenient to the Kona coast, but I viewed that as a plus!

Room Tip: Cottages are scattered around town; I have seen only the Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights while visiting the National Park. The owner, Katheryn, greeted us when we got in and gave us the full details on the Park. The place was very nice, well done, and maintained. It's within 5 minutes of the park entrance. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The proprietor Katheryn was very kind and took time to talk to us about Volcano Villiage and the park. She had good tips and lots of interesting resource material that we found very useful.

Be aware that there are not a lot of food options in the villiage and some of those are only open for lunch. Plan on using the kitchen at the cabin for some meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Kate's cottages are wonderful and have everything like home. We also love the lush garden and lanai for a rest. Owner Kathryn is so thoughtful in all details. Her high standard in the supplies - organic cereals, fair trade products, beautiful tea set and pottery bowls. I like Kathryn cares about ecosystem, she even put a compost bin in each cottage. Love it, hope we could go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

While planning our Big Island vacation, we had planned to stay in Hilo and drive to Volcanoes National Park for sightseeing. But then we discovered the little village of Volcano, just a few minutes outside the park entrance. What a find!! This is the way to visit Volcanoes NP! And among the B&Bs there, I believe Volcano Places is the best!

We stayed in Kahi Malu, a 2 room house with kitchen, lanai, living room and every amenity you could reasonably want! Kathryn was attentive, gracious, full of information and suggestions and the best host you could hope for. The house had comfortable beds with warmers, an ample supply of DVDs (both entertainment titles and documentaries about the volcanoes and recent eruptions), a fully stocked kitchen with excellent breakfast cereals, maps, flashlights and even gloves for the truly serious lava hikers! We really enjoyed sitting on the lanai out back in the middle of the rainforest eating a delicious breakfast while listening to the variety of birds singing in the trees. Kathryn has made a real effort to be environmentally and health conscious in her choice of food that she provides in the house and the way she runs it (for example, there is a water purifier system in the kitchen to fill your water bottles from). Take advantage of her maps and local knowledge, she is a real treasure for exploring Volcanoes NP.

One tip -- bring your milk from Hilo. It costs roughly $10/gallon in the convenience store in Volcano Village. Kathryn provides good directions to the supermarkets in Hilo and Kona before your trip so pay heed and follow them!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Address: P.O. Box 159, Volcano, HI 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Places, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.