We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Hawaii!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ohia Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hale Ohia Cottages to your Saves list
Hale Ohia Cottages
11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here several years ago and loved it. Over the years we had limited our Volcano visits to day trips and now I wonder why! This is perfection. We arrived late but everything was ready for us. The grounds are peaceful, the birds are singing and a delightful breakfast is waiting for us in the refrigerator. What perfect privacy. I wish everyone could see this stunning property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    49
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
116
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is where you want to stay if you want to relax in Paradise. Very easy access to the Volcano, general store, hikes and other activities. The staff is pleasant and available when needed. This is truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Wonderful place to stay after a last minute change in my travel plans. I really appreciate Sandy helping me out when foul weather forced me (oh darn!) to stay in Hawaii for a few extra days. Minutes from Volcano National Park, but back from the road so quiet. Very quaint. Best bed I slept on my entire vacation. Only note I would have is that the Cottages are old (1930s) and a bit musty -- may not be the best place for someone with sever allergies to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

...or maybe it's just because we're tall (5'10" & 6'8", respectively). The cottages are absolutely adorable & impeccably detailed. Owned by a local architect (which helps explain the superb detailing of every nook & cranny), the property dates back to the 1930s & has been a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. We stayed in the Ihilani cottage at the back of the property. It was quiet, beautiful & very charming - so much so that we didn't want to leave. It's also great to be less than 5 minutes from the park entrance as we went back after dark to enjoy the views of the glowing volcano.

Room Tip: Each room or cottage has its own charm & no two are alike. Look at the website to see all of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a great place to stay while you are exploring Volcanoes National Park, which is just a few minutes away by car. Its an idyllic little spot with wonderful gardens and every building is beautiful. If you want take-out I highly recommend the Tuk Tuk Thai truck that parks just down the street. The internet is a bit flaky, but hey, you are in a rainforest, on a volcano on a pacific island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed 3 nights. The location could not have been more convenient for my 2 solid days at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, just one mile down the road. If you are truly interested in seeing the volcano, not just sampling it, 2 full days are necessary, not to mention the variability of the weather on any one given day. Hale Ohia is very quiet. I had quirky Cottage 44, the converted water tower. Unique split-level design with the bedroom 6 steps down. I could see this being slightly annoying to some people. There's a small kitchenette. They leave breakfast every day for the next morning. It's nice, but it is the same every day, yogurt (supermarket vanilla every day), a papaya, some bananas, juice, coffee and a house-made bread that did change each day. The bread was nice, although too dry and dense. Staff is very pleasant, could not be nicer. Gas fireplace was a very nice touch -- and it was needed in the very cool nights up on the mountain. Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. Nice little covered porch, not a lanai, that was pleasant to sit on. Cozy reading nook by a window with pillows. Nice little place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A few places in town look to be overpriced, but Hale Olia offered a large enough suite for under $200 a night after tax. If you check out the nighttime volcano views from the Jaggar museum, you probably won't be spending too long at the hotel anyway. The suite had a large bedroom & a day bed in the next room. Seperate shower vs toilet. No door for the shower for some reason. A few nice antique pieces of furniture & no TV. Breakfast was nice with passionfruit juice, papaya, yogurt, a cereal bar & a fresh mini-loaf of banana cake or cake w coconut. Quite nice looking up at all of the stars at night.

Room Tip: close enough to walk to restaurants, but bring a flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ohia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ohia Cottages

Address: 11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Volcano Hawaii vacation retreat offering an intimate destination at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hale Ohia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ohia Cottages Hotel Volcano
Hale Ohia Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ohia Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.