We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ohia Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hale Ohia Cottages to your Saves list
Hale Ohia Cottages
11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our stay was short but wonderfully relaxing and such a contrast to the stark beauty of the volcano and the bustle of the cities. We stayed in Ihilani. Impeccable attention to detail in the gardens and the cottage itself. We enjoyed the fresh breakfast and slept soundly in this peaceful place. It's very convenient for viewing the crater at night. Our host was also gracious and helpful when we left a cellphone behind!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    48
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
116
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hale Ohia Cottages. Our cottage, the Ihilani, was absolutely adorable inside and out. The bed had a skylight dome over it that allowed us to watch the stars over the trees at night while chilling by the fireplace. The sleeping nook was perfect for our daughter. The outside space thrilled my daughter as well. It was gorgeous and had plenty of space right behind our cottage that felt very private.
Location couldn't be better. Being only about a mile from Volcano National Park let us hop in and out of the park and made nightime viewing very easy. The location also allowed us to explore a part of the island we'd never really been to in the past.
Upon arrival we were given a map and list of restaurants. I recommend the Kiawe Kitchen. The owner was very helpful with all questions. We hope to stay there again upon our return to the island.

Room Tip: The Ihilani is perfect for a couple and one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a very nice little cottage. It is about 3 minutes away from Volcano National Park, it's clean and comfortable enough to spend a couple of nights to visit the park. The owner was very nice and gave us all the information we needed plus he makes excellent banana bread delivered to your room for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Staying at Cottage 44 was delightful! The cottage itself is cute, neat, and homey. It's proximity to Volcanoes National Park is ideal. We loved going to the park at sunset to watch the lava glow from the Jaggar Museum observation area. Afterwards, we returned to our cottage, turned on the gas logs, and settled down to drink hot cocoa and enjoy a relaxing evening. The window seat in the living area was a favorite spot.

Each afternoon, a loaf of fruit break and fresh fruit were left for the next morning's breakfast. Each morning, we enjoyed the fruit and bread with fresh coffee at a little table by the front window.

We slept snuggly in the bedroom in the circular reservoir part of the cottage. It's a few steps down from the main cottage area to the bedroom -- no problem for anyone with normal mobility.

The bath has both garden tub and shower. The shower was most convenient since the only negative to the cottage was the amount of time it takes to get hot water in the cottage -- no problem -- just be patient. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Cottage 44.

Be sure to visit Volcanoes National Park and Black Sand Beach. By the way, a supply of flashlights is kept inside the front door of the main house -- no need to pack your own. We found that we didn't need a flashlight since we went to the Jaggar observation area both nights; we would have needed one at the lava flow outside the park about 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your experience here and recommending Cottage 44. I especially appreciate your attention to the cozy details of the cottage, as well as your nod to it's history as an old water structure -- the bedroom is a "reservoir," indeed!

Thanks also for giving future visitors a heads up about the flashlight supply by the front door, too! We want to help our guests get out and explore the area. I'm happy you enjoyed your jaunts to Black Sand Beach and the observation deck at the Jaggar Museum.

If you return to Hawaii, we would love to welcome you back to Volcano. All the best in your future travels!

Mike Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A second visit because of our previous comfortable stay in 2006.
This time we selected the Camellia Suite from the photos and were not disappointed. The room appeared freshly decorated and the bathroom, while retaining the original natural wood walls, had updated fixtures and ample tiled shower. We enjoyed the view , through leaded glass windows, of a fern filled garden. Very peaceful. Dixon the cat is still present . Heard he is 19 !
Juice, coffee, papaya and loaf of banana bread made a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for the great review -- and thank you for returning! It was lovely to host you again, six years later. I'm glad to know you found this stay just as comfortable as the last. The Camellia is a fresh, cozy suite. The leaded glass windows provide a nice view of the lush garden and a lot of natural sunlight inside the room, as well. Dixon likes to slink around over there; I hope you enjoyed his company!

Again, I really appreciate you sharing your recommendation to fellow travelers. If you are lucky enough to return to Hawaii a third time, I would love to have you back.

Safe travels,
Mike Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed only for a few days, but this is one of my favorite places on the Island. It was a like a trip back in time with the modern day amenities and some of the best fresh baked bread I have had in my entire life!

Room Tip: The two rooms with shared walls are not exactly sound proof and if available, totally worth getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Darcie,

Wow, that might be the best compliment to my homemade bread I've heard in my entire life! Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're honored to be one of your favorite places on the island. It's a lush, romantic place— definitely swoon-worthy! Please come back and see us upon your next visit to Hawaii.

All the best,
Mike Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hale Ohia is a quaint bed and breakfast, with personal service and a beautiful breakfast waiting for me in my room. It is very close to Volcanoes National Park and in the adjacent town, so you are very close to the attractions. Mike is the proprietor, who gave wonderful personal service. I recommend staying here if you are visiting the Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments to my hospitality. Hopefully you had a great time exploring the town of Volcano as well as the National Park. If you return, we would love to welcome you back to Hale Ohia!
All the best,
Mike Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ohia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ohia Cottages

Address: 11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Volcano Hawaii vacation retreat offering an intimate destination at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hale Ohia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ohia Cottages Hotel Volcano
Hale Ohia Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ohia Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.