We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to visit during the day..real show starts when the museum closes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas A. Jaggar Museum

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum
P.O. Box 52, Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
(808) 985-6000
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$103*
and up
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Volcano
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A geological and historical museum.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit during the day..real show starts when the museum closes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small museum - can get in and out on half an hour - if you read every sign and plaque. All is interesting - especially some of the stories about dude falling through the lava! Ouch! Anyway, after the place closes at 7:30 - the deck out front is the place to get the best view of the glowing red ball of magma. Very cool ( and cold - bring a jacket! )

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    128
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great attraction, even during the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Since I was on a one-day bus tour of the Big Island, I wasn't able to see the volcano at night. But I would love to have been able to see it then. Nevertheless, it's still impressive during the day. The Museum itself has a lot of information and exhibits about the geology of the volcano.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Good information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The museum has good information about volcanic action. Right above the Kilaeua crater. Worth the visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit at night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nothing like the glowing lava and stars at night! Definitely worth a visit!! I would advise going in the wee hours of the night when most people have gone home as the park is open 24 hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A museum not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon. Between our guide and the excellent displays, it was a very educational visit. To top it off.as soon as the sun set we were able to see the glow from the lava lake. Very impressive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas A. Jaggar Museum also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thomas A. Jaggar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas A. Jaggar Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.