We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Haunani Road, P.O. Box 995, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

The room is clean and lovely. Host gave us lots of helpful information. Although the breakfast was very simple, Still recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The At the End of the Road B&B was a pleasant experience, though a brief one for us. It's very conveniently located for a visit to Volcano National Park, so we were able to go to the park for a while before stopping back at the B&B to rest and then head out again. Lani & Ray were very accommodating of our early arrival time, which enabled us to get settled in and then spend the afternoon at the park.

We had a large bedroom that included a queen size bed, a second child-size bed in an alcove, and attached full bathroom. We had access to the large living room (including a large cable TV), but no access to the kitchen or dining area. Everything was clean, comfortable, and very quiet.

As noted by others, the breakfast was a simple continental breakfast, nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

This BandB was very clean and very quiet. It is located just a few minutes from HVNP. We had the room with the bath down the hall. The price and location were good, thats why we stayed there.
We were disappointed with the breakfast. The fruitcup was the size dish that a butter pat is typically served in and it was canned! fruit from the grocery store. The bread, rolls, and cereal were also small, not too tasteful portions. The kitchen was closed and locked except at breakfast. Alcohol was prohibited. The room had several small religious sayings tucked here and there. There are no landscaped grounds, just mowed grass and forest. The hostess was very talkative and had lots of information about local tourist attractions. Unfortunately, much of her information was outdated, incomplete, or wrong. Even though she had lived in Hawaii her whole life, she had not actually visited some of the tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Beautiful and very comfy B&B. The bigger room with the ensuite bathroom (haven't really seen the other one) is spacious and inviting. The hosts, Lani and Ray, are very friendly and a great source to find out more about hawaiian history. If you are lucky Ray plays Ukulele for you.
Don't miss out on papaya and the delicious banana bread for brekki. If I go back to Big Island, that's the place I'll stay.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at this B&B before seeing some of the sites at Volcano National Park. The Room was very clean and SO SO quiet! The host was plesant and served us an good continental breakfast of cereal, fruit and juice (and my husband had a toaster waffle too). This was a good value and we would stay again when going back to see the National park.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My husband and I arrived late in the afternoon and was greeted by Lani, the owner of the B&B. The house was not hard to find as we had our GPS with us. Lani was friendly and showed us our room and our bathroom. The other room was an ensuite which was occupied by another couple. Lani offered us an upgrade for our second night stay to the ensuite room but we didn't feel the need. The two rooms available are in one side of the house so there's no concerns of disrupting Lani and her husband. Lani gave us thorough information about the volcano park and also gave us dining suggestions. She also gave us instructions on how to get in and out of the house (the house was gated). The location is great as it was 5 minute drive to the park. The breakfast was good. We had fresh fruits, banana bread, english muffins and tea/coffee. Lani explained that it was under the B&B regulations that she could not cook anything for her guests so the pastries were store bought which was fine with us. She always made sure we were full! This is certainly a good place to stay when visiting the volcano park!

  • Liked — Location very close to the volcano park
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

How to start.

Lani, the hostess was kind. a bit abrupt...i hadn't been here for more than five minutes before she was asking me to pay in-full - in cash. and it was 10 at night. i was pretty shocked by this and told her as much. especially since they had already cashed a check with half of what i was going to owe.

I then asked for some hot water for tea, which was clearly not cool with Lani. The kitchen is strictly off limits and there isn't really an area where beverages are available.

breakfast was minimal. choices included store bought sweet breads, cereal, waffles and fruit. the portions were tiny - the day i checked waffle i got 1 eggo waffle.

Some general oddities, but it was so affordable for hawai'i, I feel like I can't complain too much.

Also, if you are uncomfortable with overt Christianity or talk of church, this isn't a good match for you. They (i never met or even saw her husband) are very religious and Lani talked almost every day about church. And no alcohol - that's on the list of house rules, which are a page long.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast

Address: Haunani Road, P.O. Box 995, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The End Of The Road Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.