We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab find just up the road from the botanical gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What's Shakin'

What's Shakin'
27 Old Mamalahoa Hwy 999, Pepeekeo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96783
808-964-3089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pepeekeo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Fab find just up the road from the botanical gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited circa 3 pm. This place is just "up the road" from a beautiful botanical garden, on a scenic narrow road just north of Hilo. This "shack" is clean, and has a restroom. The women here make fabulous fruit smoothies - small, but thick - using a variety of fascinating combinations of local fruit. They also make light lunches (wraps of various kinds, including fish), and coffee (don't ask for decaff - remember, this is the Big Island!). Some of the smoothies contain milk products, but most don't, which was fine by us. Had some wraps and two different smoothies each. One of us opted for the algae protein supplement, which turned the smoothies green but did not affect their flavor! Limited seating on the lanai (porch), some more seating under a canopy. We will return to this casual place if we're back in the Hilo vicinity. May be open as late as 5 pm (many such places are not) - check for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    59
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are in the Hilo area, or visiting the Botanical Tropical Gardens, make sure you visit What's Shakin for breakfast, lunch or a snack - absolutely cute shake shack' type of a place, where the very friendly owners & staff serve up delicious smoothies made from fresh frozen fruits (you can ask for your own combination of fruits), and and even more delicious food made with fresh ingredients, some of them locally grown on their land. The huge avocados made for a super tasty avocado wrap that I am still dreaming of..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After stopping at the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens we were looking for a refreshing lunch and found it at the What's Shakin". The food was unique and fresh and the smoothies hit the spot. We ordered at the window from a young women who provided information about the unusual fruits available with lunch. If I could remember the names I would add them here, just suffice to say they are not available in Iowa. Seating is on the wrap-around porch or at picnic tables. I had the avocado wrap and my friend had the salmon. Both were tasty with generous proportions. Give this place a try if you are in the vicinity. Come with an appetite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quite expensive (overrated)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had heard of this place. We ordered smoothies. First, mine was too sweet, I forced myself to drink. Smoothies that I do at home are much better. Second, it was too thick, I almost had to eat (drink) it with a spoon. The person who was with me found his smoothie best as mine, but too thick too. It can replace a home smoothie when there is no mixer close (and several dollars to spend).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice Spot with very good smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped in after visiting the Botanical gardens and took the scenic road back to Rt 19. The restaurants had a great look and location. It has a very Hawaiian feel. We did not get the food but got a few drinks and a banana Macadamia Nut smoothies which was excellent. We saw that the menu had a lot of good fresh items and fresh fruit to buy. This is a great stop after you go to the botanical gardens

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What's Shakin' also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to What's Shakin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What's Shakin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.