We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise

Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pepeekeo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise
Save
You added Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28-1435 Old Mamalahoa Hwy, Pepeekeo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pepeekeo
Fontana, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice easy hike to beautiful falls. If you want to take the easier way, take the hike on the left as it is shorter. The other hike is fairly easy with beautiful scenery. The falls were amazing. This is a must see in Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is by far one of the most breathtaking waterfalls I've seen. It's over 400 ft of thundering beauty. There is also another watjer fall that is about 1/3 miles away on the same trail. Just stunning and if you are on the Hilo side, I believe this to be a must see!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Obviously a beautiful waterfall, but the park is also well manicured and easy to walk. Inexpensive at $1 person or $5 car and definitely worth the visit. We stopped here as part of our around the island drive, and it was a nice stop. Be sure to park on the street outside the parking lot if you have less than 5 people.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We drove from Hilo to Waikoloa and saw the sign "Akaka Falls" and decided to take a detour. It's probably about 45 minutes both ways for this detour but it's quite worth it. The fall itself is not really big, but it's great to see a little gem tucked away in the residential valley. I would visit again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed 4 days at this house located 11 miles away from Hilo, near the village of Honomu. The place is perfect if you're looking to be away from everything for a couple of days. It sits on 2 acres of land in the tropical forest, consisting of banana, mango and avocado trees, and it's recommended to have a 4x4 to drive on the last part of the road, since it's pretty bumpy, although a normal car can also make it without problem. The paved part of the road getting there is quite spectacular, passing through a small tropical valley with giant trees all around.

The house itself is spacious, with 3 large bedrooms, living room and kitchen/ dining area. There's a great view of the Pacific ocean with the sunrise every morning. The area is obviously very quiet. The eco-green aspect of the house was not a problem for us, we always had enough water (rain catching system) and electricity supply was fine (solar panels). The only problem we had, and we mentioned it to the caretakers of the place as well, was the fact that the kitchen was not equipped well enough (ie: no toaster or microwave, plastic glasses, no wine glasses, etc ...). Also, there's no cable or Wi-Fi and we could only find 1 TV station available. For the internet we were able to get a connection at the village, which is about a 5 minute drive away. As well, the place could have been a bit cleaner.

Overall, it was a good experience and was an interesting change from the dry and sunny resort areas on the other side of the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise

Address: 28-1435 Old Mamalahoa Hwy, Pepeekeo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96783
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pepeekeo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pepeekeo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise Pepeekeo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaka Falls Hawaii Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.