We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous overall for both kids and adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Island Goode's to your Saves list
Island Goode's
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Hilo/Papaikou, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous overall for both kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We just returned from a week on Big Island and stayed 2 nights at Island Goode's and it was absolutely fabulous. The only negative is that we didn't stay more than 2 nights!

We were traveling with 2 small children ages 3 and 5, and even though the "family room" was booked, Garvin and Lara accommodated us in the other room, which is huge. There was plenty of space for an air mattress on the floor (the room is much bigger than the photo on the website makes it look), which accommodated the kids very well. The bed we slept in had a Sleep Number mattress so my husband and I slept great. The room has a big bathroom and a small kitchen area with dishes, a toaster, a coffee maker, tea maker (which impressed my British husband) and small fridge.

The highlights:
After we put the kids to bed, we sat outside soaking in the jacuzzi and looking at the stars. The jacuzzi was right outside our door, but we had brought our baby monitor just in case. We didn't really need. it

The other highlight was Lara's breakfast. Freshly baked muffins and an array of incredible fresh fruit, most of it grown on the property, including papaya, lychees, pineapple, mango, passion fruit, and more.

One of the best parts of our stay was when Lara took us on a tour of the farm. We started with the baby chicks, and then visited the fruit groves. They grow bananas, mangoes, pineapple, oranges, lemons, limes, papayas, and I'm sure I'm missing some. They have chickens and have started growing coffee plants, and are setting up a greenhouse with tomatoes and other vegetables. For kids who think their food comes "from the store", this was a great excursion.

The B&B is in a great location, only 10 minutes or so from Hilo and very close to the not-to-be-missed (!!!) Botanical Gardens and Akaka Falls. We also did a day trip to the volcano, which worked but it was a long day. The B&B is up above the water, so you can actually sit and watch the ocean, and in our case, the whales since it's the migration season.

Rooms: the 2 rooms are separated by a 'friends and family' room which buffers the noise, so if you're not traveling with kids and the other room has small children, you won't hear the noise.

Cleanliness: the room was immaculate.

Value: excellent value.

We hope to be back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
82
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

This beautiful hillside property is surrounded by tropical orchards and their farm which provide the luscious fruits that are served for the breakfast. The room we occupied had a queen size sleep number bed. The B&B is about 2 years old so the rooms are beautifully furnished "island" style and are fresh, clean and very spacious. We felt it was more like a suite There is a covered lanai outside the door and breakfast was brought to us( at the time we designated ) and set up on the table out there. It was very pleasant. There is a view from the front of the property of Hilo Harbor and at night on can hear the chirp of tree frogs.
Gavin meet us and got us settled in when we arrived, his wife, Laura, served the breakfast in the morning. Both were very helpful and accomodating. Our room was supplied with ample towels and bathroom amenities for our two night stay. The room was not made up or cleaned after our first night there. Although we were a bit surprised, this was a small issue compared to all the positives it had going for it.
Breakfast the first day consisited a large fresh fruit platter, delicious smoothees also made with the fruits of their farm and homemade muffins. There was fresh squeezed juice and a carafe of coffee. On the second day...maybe because it was Sunday, we had a dellicious spinach and onion egg scramble...also with lots of fruit, juice etc.
Island Goode is located about 6 miles miles north of Hilo which we found very convenient. It took about 10 minutes to get into town.
The Goodes were very good hosts and their property is beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and wish we had 40 more. The B&B is located on a farm and we were served the freshest fruit and smoothies picked right on location with home made muffins and cinnamon bread. We stayed in the huge Mauna Kea room with had 2 couches and an adjustable firmness king sized bed. We loved lounging outside on our private veranda and in the outdoor Jacuzzi. If you ever want to stay in the Hilo area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We arrived at 9pm to stay on big island for 3 nights and then move on to kauai and oahu. Garvin was waiting for us, showing us the greatest place to stay on hawaii - the hilo bay room. We loved the hawaiian style of the BIG, CLEAN and lovely furnished room. After an exciting hike at the volcano it was great to relax in the jaccuzi. Laura served us breakfast every morning eighter to our room or our lanai with fresh tropical and typical hawaiian fruits from their own plantation, like white pineapple and passion fuits, for example - the best breakfast we ever had! We even got home made sugar cane smoothies - what a great way to start the day! Laura gave us lots of information what to do and where to eat on the island. Many thanks to Laura and Garvin, you made our vacation very special! We highly recommend your B&B to every one who would take care of your little paradise. Can`t wait to visit you again!
Love, Bettina + Michael

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This was our first leg in our Hawaii adventure, so we arrived not so fresh from our flight from Sydney-Honolulu-Hilo, all 4 of us (4yr & 2yr included) seriously sleep deprived, and 2 of us (me included) very sick. Laura and Garvin allowed us an early check-in- no problems. We were provided with a light and nutritious breakfast every day which kept us going till dinner. Very, very accommodating, understanding and gracious of the children. We had the extra-room suite, which provided us with heaps of space for the kids. We stayed 3-nights, which was probably all we needed to recover from our flight, and also take in the volcanoes and turtle rock pools. The weather is often very wet, so doing much more at Hilo is difficult. Saying that, we would not come to Hawaii without seeing the volcano, and Hilo is the best located to do this, and Island Goodes is a fantastic place to stay- clean, contemp. Hawaiian furnishing. Saved us a stay at the very 'un-inhabitable looking' 2-star hotels in Hilo!!!.....thank you Island Goodes, we will be recommending you to friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Goode's and it was perfect.. wonderful location (10mins drive from airport), thoughtful hosts..lots of privacy for a B&B. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My Wife and I stayed in the Hilo Bay Room and had the best experience we've had at a bed and breakfast. Garvin and Laura were great, knowledgeable hosts. Anytime we mentioned what we might want to do each day, they either had the knowledge to tell us how best to go about our day or would contact someone and get the information for us. Breakfast each morning was amazing and catered to our liking. The room was very spacious. The sleep number bed was a plus. We'd like to thank them for the great stay and making our trip special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Hilo/Papaikou, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Goode's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goode's is 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience The Big Island. New Luxury B&B with spectacular view of Hilo Bay. Each room has King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, large bathrooms with full size tub and shower, 9 foot ceilings with two fans in each main rooms and A/C in all main rooms. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! An optional private breakfast served to your room or your private covered Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Goode's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.