We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Island Goode's to your Saves list
Island Goode's
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Hilo/Papaikou, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were referred to Island Goode's by another B&B and feel fortunate to have stayed 2 nights hosted by 2 of the nicest Innkeepers/B&B owners to be found. The property is a short drive off the highway but seems a world away with several acres of sustainable farm and views of Hilo Bay. The Ginger Room was well appointed and comfortable. The grounds were expansive and well cared for. Orchids in bloom around the lanai were a treat. The location of the B&B is ideal. It is close to but not in downtown Hilo where there is abundant dining and activity. We were thrilled that it was so convenient to Akaka Falls, the gorgeous Tropical Botanical Garden and What's Shakin'. The breakfasts were delicious, bountiful, and nicely presented on the lanai outside our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
82
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October in the Hilo Bay Room. The B&B is approx 4miles north of Hilo. Large, beautifully decorated room with all possible equipment available.

Best of all were the breakfasts on the private lanai with the ocean view. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the best we had on all of Hawaii. A lot of homemade pastry. On our last day we had to depart very early before 6am to catch a plane. Laura organised a complete breakfast and put it in the fridge the night before. Great service! We had different experiences with flexibility of breakfast times in other B&Bs so we were really happy. Laura and Garvin were very welcoming hosts - great overall experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June. The location is great - just off the highway about 5 miles north of Hilo in a rural area. It made for a nice central location to tour the island, and is on the prettier, rainier side of the island.

The B&B is on a sustainable farm, and many of the delicious fruits that they serve are from the farm. They they also raise chickens, and cook the eggs for breakfast (the best I've ever tasted as they were so fresh!). Laura made guava french toast one morning, and it was delicious! They will even give you a tour of their farm, although we didn't have time with our busy schedule as there is so much to see and do on the Big Island.

We stayed in the Mauna Kea room with the adjoining extra room, so we had three beds total. The main room has air conditioning, a king size sleep number bed, a living area with large tv, and a dining table. The adjoining room has two double beds with ceiling fan, but no air conditioning. We left the door open and the breeze helped cool it down. They also provide a box fan for that room. The two rooms share a full bathroom with double sinks. Everything was very clean and well maintained.

There is a small outdoor jacuzzi close to the room, and hammocks to relax in. The location was very quiet, except for the sound of the Coqui frogs, which were not overly obtrusive.

We had a great experience staying here, and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September--wish we had stayed longer! The property is beautiful; room was perfect (spotlessly clean, large, comfortable), and well-equipped with minifridge, coffee maker, hot pot for tea/cocoa, dinnerware, glasses, etc., AC, ceiling fans, or box fan for comfortable sleeping. Laura and Garvin's attention to detail is beyond impressive. Breakfasts were fabulous: farm-fresh eggs, fruit; homemade baked goods, all beautifully and plentifully presented on our lanai table. I could go on, but I can't really say anything that hasn't already been said in other reviews. Even their website is exceptionally well done with clear pictures and detailed descriptions of the rooms and amenities. If you're planning a trip to the Big Island, book your room at Island Goode's now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Laura and Garvin were so welcoming and made us feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful on your own private lanai. They shared their interesting lifestyle with us (sustainable farm) and Garvin informed us about wild boar that like to eat their fruits and vegetables. Nothing is wasted as he informed us that his neighbor butches and eats the board. They grow apple bananas (which are delicious) and other area fruits. A great experience. If you are heading for the Hilo area, give them a call and stay there! Oh, the sleep number beds are heaven!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were guests for 4 nights in mid-September. Garvin and Laura couldn't have been more welcoming and at the same time sensitive to our feeling a sense of privacy if we chose. Our room (Mauna Kea) was spacious, and well appointed . The individually adjustable mattress (Sleep #) was comfort beyond measure.

Every review we read before visiting raved about the sumptuous breakfasts. They were a culinary and visual feast. The apple bananas were particularly outrageous. The fact that the property is a sustainable farm only added to the pleasure of being there (not the usual farm---no flies, no odors, pristine).

Visiting the East coast of the Big Island and Volcano National Park is like going back in time (a more leisurely pace, less traffic,etc.). Island Goode's was the perfect jumping off point for each new adventure. We long to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in September and wished we had stayed longer. The room was lovely and large. The breakfasts were a feast of fruits, and other goodies. Most fruit was grown on their sustainable farm. Garvin and Laura were so nice and gave great advice of places to see and things to do. We stayed in the Mauna Kea room. They had a cooler and beach towels to use and a mini fridge, coffee pot, etc. available. We would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay on the hilo side of the Big Island. We look forward to coming again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Hilo/Papaikou, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Goode's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goode's is 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience The Big Island. New Luxury B&B with spectacular view of Hilo Bay. Each room has King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, large bathrooms with full size tub and shower, 9 foot ceilings with two fans in each main rooms and A/C in all main rooms. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! An optional private breakfast served to your room or your private covered Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Goode's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.