We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of photographic opportunities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
27-717 Old Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
808-964-5233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Papaikou
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lots of photographic opportunities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I won't repeat what others have said, but this was a wonderful way to spend a couple of hours. We went to Akaka Falls first and then headed here. Initially, the paved pathways were a little steep, and our hike and tripod setup were interrupted frequently by the golf carts taking people (who were unable to hike) up and down a path which was hardly wider than the golf carts. We had no problems with bugs in late January. Despite an earlier claim on Trip Advisor, there are NO discount coupons for the gardens. An amazing feat creating this garden from a trash heap.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    64
    11
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful way to spend a day, so peaceful and such an incredible undertaking. The admission was $15.00 each, but well worth it. All the plants are well labelled and in beautiful settings. The paths are well marked throughout the park and it takes at least two hours to do it justice. Our favourite art of the gardens were down by the ocean with some of the best views in all of Hawaii. One note - take bug spray with you as there were some mysterious bites that appeared on my body the following day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Tropical Garden Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our second visit to the gardens. Last year when we stumbled across this place, we were reluctant to visit the gardens as the $15 per person entrance seemed a bit steep to us. However, we were glad we decided to dig deeper than we would have liked into our wallets. Oh my!!!!! Definitely money well spent. I have never seen more gorgeous flowers in so many different colors and species. The grounds make for a wonderful stroll down to the water where you get fabulous views of the ocean. They say it takes about an hour and a half to cover the entire walkway..................we spent over four hours. This place is a definite "MUST SEE!" Be sure to bring a camera.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Fastest way to say: "Now I know I'm in Hawaii!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Way more than a garden, you are trekking through classic Hawaiian flora and fauna that looks like it's from another planet as you work your way down to this breathtaking coastal vista. It's a kind of bay so that the roar of the waves against the rocks reverberates like an amphitheater that sounded like a low flying jumbo jet! Just loved it! We went first thing in the morning to avoid the heat, and bugs weren't a problem for us at that time, though we did spray ourselves preemptively. Before arriving to the entrance we pulled off the road at an overlook, forget the name. But, there is a short trail that heads to a smaller cove right on the water with a pebble beach. We had the place to ourselves as we watched the waves coming in with force against the jutting rocks. This is located right at the back side of the Tropical Botanical Gardens, but is State property. So, you can't enter the Gardens from there. What a find! When we were at the coast of the Gardens we could see the spot where we were before. After the Gardens, just a little further down the Scenic Drive, make sure to eat at "What's Shakin" before heading to Akaka Falls.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth your time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm a plant person. My husband is not. As we toured these gardens yesterday he commented that this was definitely a "don't miss activity" in Hawaii. Enough said...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden to your Saves list