We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
27-717 Old Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
808-964-5233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Papaikou
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I have visited the garden at least 5 or 6 times over the years. We are from Hawaii (Oahu) and are continuously amazed at what we see when we visit. Two years ago I took over 150 pictures so this year we concentrated on looking at the vegetation.....not just taking pictures.

Be sure to look up, down, left, and right as you walk the paved paths. There are marvels all around. When we got to the ocean we got to see a pod of dolphins leaping out of the water a few hundred yards off shore. Two years ago there was a large seal basking in the sun in the little bay/cove on the Hilo side of the garden.

In the past insect repellent was free at the start of the path. This time there was none. We were offered "bug wipes & water" when we paid and declined both, thinking that there would be the free repellent at the start of the walk. MISTAKE! Imperative that you have some sort of insect repellent as the mosquitoes are hungry. Probably took off 2 - 3 pounds of weight due to the blood loss. Just kidding, but do use some sort of repellent.

We spent about 2 hours this time and left feeling that we had seen lots. New sections and plants are added so that if you have been there before....go again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    77
    14
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“God' Beauty Surrounds You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before our ship docked in Hilo, we had signed up for the "Hilo Coast & Botanical Garden" tour, we were NOT sorry we did this. Oh, the drive is gorgeous to get there and once you enter through the "magical" archway to the gardens, you are immersed into a rainforest unlike nothing else we have experienced (at least in the US). The descent and walk back up can be challenging, especially once you are warm from walking all through the gardens.

The plants/flowers are marked for the most part and are just awesome. The benches have been placed in very appropriate locations where you can rest a bit as you are serenely taken away for the beauty around you. BE SURE to walk all the way to the ocean view area, it is JUST gorgeous. I took a panoramic shot there & oh, my gosh...it is JUST stupendous.

One reviewer said there was a charge for the golf cart (takes people up and down the steep ramp), the gentleman offered us a ride down but we declined. However, on the way back up I was SO warm (just from the rainforest environment) & was having some problem walking back up. We stopped at one of the benches to rest as he came by with a person, he told us to just wait there & he would be right back up, he was and was VERY accomodating to us. He never said there was a charge & nothing was noted on the cart. Maybe they only charge during certain months, we were there in November.

IF you love nature, plants, the ocean, the tropics, ANYTHING that is beautiful, then the HAWAII BOTANICAL GARDENS is a MUST tour destination, you will NOT regret it!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It really is worth a visit, you get to experience amazing views of rainforest within a controlled safe environment with nice paved paths. Amazing photos!
tip: do buy the small packets of bug repellent for like a $1 or 2$ when you are buying the tickets

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was easy to find but the road to the gardens is on a narrow, winding road that had my wife more than a little nervous. Unfortunately we got there late in the day and they told us that they were going to be closing in about 1 1/2 hours. We decided to go anyway because it was our last day in Hawaii and we both wanted to see this place. There is a time line showing how this place was originally a sort of dump and by an act of love, slowly turned into this amazing showplace. The settings were very nice and all over the place with different trails leading to different themed sections. The one sad thing both of us thought was that only one plant in the gardens was listed as being native to Hawaii and on that tree the sign was highlighted in red so it really stood out.
I wish we had gotten there earlier because there were many spots in the garden I wish we could have lingered, especially at the bottom along the ocean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even a non-garden person will enjoy this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The only downside is the steep, short walk out. The plants are amazing. The paths are well-maintained. Views of the Omomea falls and bay are great. There is even a large lone picnic table on a trail to the bay so you can enjoy your own picnic lunch in this beautiful park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.