We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ono malasadas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Tom's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baker Tom's
27-2111 Mamalahoa Hwy, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery
Description: There are reviews on Yelp.
Restaurant details
Description: There are reviews on Yelp.
Hilo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ono malasadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Baker Tom is now at Uncle Billy's; go early or you will miss the great malasadas! Baker Tom also has awesome cheesecakes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keaau, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Baker Tom now in Hilo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Baker Tom and his Ono malasadas are now at Uncle Billy's on Banyan dr in Hilo. They are wonderful treats.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Huge Malasadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tom makes huge malasads, and they are overstuffed with flavor. I love his lilikoi, and the filling just oozes out and down your chin after the first bite. Oh, so good. He makes some unusual ones, too, like pizza & sausage/broccoli, etc. We pick them up in Hilo, but if you don't get there early, forget it. The only "drawback" if you can all it that is price. One huge malasada can cost over $2.00, but soooo worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moves. At Uncle Billy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been to the Hilo area several times and was surprised when I didn't see Baker Tom. He is a real site and also a good baker. But I asked around and found he was in Hilo now at Uncle Billy's. I went there for malasadas. He is a bit of a fish out of water but you really have got to appreciate him.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yum, love the lilikoi cheesecake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Yum. The Lilikoi cheesecake is amazing. Also, all the sweet treats are great! the place is easy to find (right off the road) and the staff are helpful and sweet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Tom's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.