We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience in Paradise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
13-1139 Leilani Avenue, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience in Paradise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This appears to be a lovely property in a great location, but we were extremely disappointed in our experience. It began positively in mid-December, as they accommodated our request for a one-night reservation for the night of January 6, 2013. We gladly paid a one-night deposit of $100 and understood that IT would be forfeited if we canceled for any reason. The written confirmation we received stated this. On January 5, I realized that a persistent problem with my hip and leg were not going to permit me to visit the property, so I called to let them know. When the answering machine picked up, I left a message letting them know that we would not be there and that we understood we would forfeit our DEPOSIT, as per their policy. When I received our credit card statement, I was surprised to see an ADDITIONAL CHARGE of $92 for the night of January 6. I read and re-read my confirmation from the property, which said nothing about an additional charge being assessed, so I tried several times and sent several follow up emails seeking clarification and asking whether the additional $92 should have been charged/can be refunded. Almost five months later, the silence has been deafening and very disappointing. We are always prepared to play by the rules as communicated up front and had no problem forfeiting our $100 deposit, as agreed. I fully understand special circumstances for smaller properties or concerns related to holiday periods. (They are certainly free to adopt and publish policies addressing such issues. By the way, our stay was outside their specified holiday period, which ended on January 5.) My concerns and disappointment are based on two specific issues: 1) our confirmation did not say the property would levy any ADDITIONAL cost if we did not keep our reservation; and 2) we haven't received the courtesy of an explanation for this extra charge, despite my inquiries. When we made the reservation, we knew there was a chance that we might not be able to keep it, due to my impaired ability to walk. However, I relied up the property's written policy in making our decisions. The actual additional $92 charge is not the issue, so much as the fact that we were surprised by it and did not receive a response to my repeated inquiries. The proprietor who spoke with me in making our arrangements seemed like a very nice gentleman, so I am hoping this was just an oversight or a mistake. This experience was disappointing, however, and we will keep it in mind as we consider returning to the area in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha guest!
Doug and I took over managing the Coconut Cottage on Christmas day 2012. We hope to see you visit the Cottage in the future when your hip is healed or better. Like any other B&B or hotel, we do have a policy in place. We sent it to you when booking your stay and then again when you made your cancellation. Many Aloha's to you and we hope you feel better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    35
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
235
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were doing 2 days of hiking in VNP. We called late at night, and Doug had 1 room left. We stayed in the Bali suite. Great accomidations! We were out early for an excursion (5am) only to come back to breakfast ready to go. It was wonderful...some of the best food on the island as far as Im concerned. We happened upon this place, but would seek it out on another trip to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for staying at The Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast. We too enjoyed your visit and hope in the future that you can stay more than one day! Thank you for the beautiful review as we truly strive to give our guests the gift of Aloha while staying here from the fresh delicious food Doug our chef prepares to room accomodations and suggestions on excursions. We hope to see you soon!

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My stay at the Coconut Cottage was wonderful. Jaime and Doug are warm and thoughtful hosts.

When I arrived, Doug showed me to the Bali Spirit Suite and gave me an overview of the B&B as well as nearby activities. The suite is spacious and has its own entrance. I actually didn't hear any of the other guests while I was in my room.

In the mornings, breakfast started with platter of fresh fruits, coffee, tea and juice. From there we had omelettes, breads, potatoes and sausage. It was delicious and the best food I had on the island. I would seriously stay here again just for the breakfast.

The garden is beautiful, well maintained and very lush. There are lots of places to explore nearby from tide pools to lava!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We truly enjoyed hosting you here at Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast and do hope you have a chance to visit again! You truly had the Aloha spirit which is what this experience is all about. Many aloha's to you from our Ohana to yours. Mahalo~ Jaime, Doug and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARIEN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Traveling with another couple we stayed in 3 different rooms. The best thing about Coconut Cottage is the friendliness of the owners. They care about providing you a good experience. The current owners are relatively new (less than a year) and there are some things about the property that need updating (fluffier towels, spiffing up corners and edges, etc of rooms) but I'd stay there again. It was fun to talk about the area with the owners (restaurant recommendations, sightseeing ideas). The local fresh fruit every morning was delicious. Coffee was available before the actual breakfast for early risers. The hosts generously share tour books and maps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha Coconut Cottage Guest!

We wanted to take a moment and thank you for providing such beautiful Aloha spirit and giving us a glowing report. We took your response to heart and have replaced the linens and have replaced many of the towels so they are fluffier! Our guests are sleeping on 600 to 800 thread count. We hope you will come stay with us again!

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I had a few days off work and traveled from Kona to Pahoa. I am extremely pleased with our stay at Coconut Cottage. The Bali Room has a unique, inviting atmosphere and the coolest daybed right when you walk in. The hosts, Jamie and Doug, are great. They had helpful recommendations for things to do in the area, but we ended up just chatting with them for the night! They are very welcoming; not to mention the delicious breakfast Doug prepared in the morning. Breakfast is served on their cozy, enclosed lanai (balcony) and consisted of teas and coffee, plenty of fresh sliced fruit, a frittata, portuguese sausage, and a tasty homemade fruit bread. You will feel at home at this bed and breakfast. There are a lot of beautiful sights in the surrounding area, including some of the greatest drives in Hawaii. I can't wait to go back and stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha Coconut Cottage Guests!

We truly enjoyed both of you and only hope that in the future you come stay with us again! After many requests, Doug is now conducting Lava Hikes in Kalapana per guest request and for only $150 per two people which saves our guests lots of dollars. Plus they get to come back and have Doug's beautiful breakfast. Guests are loving it and we hope you will join us sometime in the near future while your still on the Big Island. We once again want to send you many Aloha's.

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights to visit the Lave fields and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very spacious , the garden was beautiful and the breakfast deliciously prepared with local flavors. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will do so during our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the cottage which was not part of the main house and was very private.The location of Coconut Cottage makes it an ideal base for exploring the SE corner of Hawaii. You can drive up to Hilo, to the Puna coast and explore the tide pools and snorkel or visit Volcano National Park. We ended up increasing the amount of time we stayed here as it was so perfect. Pahoa was a nice sleepy town with a number of good restaurants and bars. There are also Pizza takeaways. Its great to take a pizza back to the cottage and eat it on the Lanai.

Breakfasts were a feast. Doug is a chef and so his breakfasts are first class. His banana bread is the best ever.

The cottage itself is finished to a very high standard: Lovely big bed and nice hot shower. Its sat in beautiful gardens and at night, the rain forest comes alive. Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-1139 Leilani Avenue, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list