We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above our Expectations!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
13-1139 Leilani Avenue, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Above our Expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family stayed for five days in the bungalow and had the best vacation we've ever had. It was our little home away from home. Beautifully decorated and spotless. It was so nice to have our own little kitchen and cook some of our evening meals. The breakfasts were wonderful and delicious every morning. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the hot tub every night. Wonderful hosts who were very informative. We wish we were back there!!

Room Tip: bungalow is perfect for families and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    35
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
241
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The reason this review is has a two and not a one star rating is because this was our second visit and the preceding one was quite pleasant. This visit, however, was atrocious. As a courtesy to the owners and out of respect for their business, I am omitting details and pictures of our experience. Nonetheless, I will report that this property is in desperate need of attention. With the right effort, this B&B could return to its previous excellent state; I hope the proprietors will make this effort.

Room Tip: Avoid the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The lovely hostess at Coconut Cottage has thought of everything you might want or need to enjoy Hawaii and prepared it for you already. The rooms and grounds are absolutely lovely and the breakfast is tasty and ample. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We loved every minute of our wonderful stay at the cottage. Beautiful clean rooms, tasty gourmet breakfasts and close to all the sights. The grounds were absolutely amazing and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub looking at the stars at night. The hosts were so nice and informative. We highly recommend this wonderful oasis!

Room Tip: Bali room overlooks the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mahalo for a relaxing and enjoyable time at your charming B&B. My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in the Hibiscus Room. The room was so cute and tastefully decorated. Very very clean and comfortable. We had a little step down living room with a couch and mini fridge. We also had our own lanai. The breakfasts were simply AMAZING! Beautiful gardens too. We already want to come back!!

Room Tip: Hibiscus room is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasstown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Coconut Cottage bungalow for the last two nights of a 2-week trip to Hawaii. It was a great way to end our fantastic vacation. The place is clean, private, and equipped with everything you need to relax and enjoy the beauty of this part of the Big Island. The breakfasts were great and the grounds are wonderful, but the highlight was being serenaded each night by the tropical frogs that inhabit the area. The location is convenient to Volcanoes National Park, Hilo, the beaches on the southeast side of the island, and the eclectic town of Pahoa. The only slight difficulty we had was figuring out how the water worked for the shower (the cold water pressure would cycle for some unknown reason). Other than this minor inconvenience, we found the place to be a small slice of paradise.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Many thanks to Coconut Cottage for a joyful and wonderful experience. We stayed five nights in the Bali Suite and loved every minute. Clean and spacious and beautifully decorated. Lovely theme and our lanai overlooked their manicured gardens. We enjoyed drinking wine at sunset and listening to the birds on the property. The breakfasts were amazing and never had the same thing twice. Wonderful chefs!! A big mahalo!...and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Bali overlooks the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-1139 Leilani Avenue, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.