We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast
13-1264 Kamaili Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great B&B experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Dennis was a great host and had a great time in Plumeria Hill B&B. Good location to all the fun activities in the area. Room was clean and breakfast was amazing. Great place for anyone staying in Pahoa. Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyman, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night there but you could very easy stay for long peroids. They offered just about anything a traveler needed, shampoos, conditioner, soaps, towels ect... they had a small kitchen area and every thing was clean and tidy. Dennis the owner must have been a "stand up comedian" in his past life, as he loves to joke around. Reading other reviews, this seemed to bother some people but I thought he was just having a good time with life. They did give us a great recommendation for a resturant in Pahoa for dinner. We staied there as it was very close to the "Lava Ocean Adventures" boat trip, you need to check it out also. We went on the sunrise trip & when we got back a very nice breakfast was waiting on us.
The only negative thing I could find about the room was the bed, it was a king size mattress on a queen size frame, so it was very "squeaky". Not good for "honeymooners" if you get my drift! It was a "sleep by number" mattress and it was comfortable, just a bit squeaky. And remember, you are on the "rainy" side of the island so plan on it.

Room Tip: As you head South down Highway 11 out of Pahoa, watch for a sign pointing to "Opihikao" as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Waht a pleasant stay!
We wish, we would have spent more time...
We just booked one night here because we didn't want to drive back to Kona after a long hike to the lava. The service was great, the breakfast here ist much better than in the Sheraton in Kona. The breakfast is even better than in a good hotel.
If You are there, ask Dennis about his Chili-Relish, it's delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Plumeria Hill for 2 nights in Jan 2013, it was my first trip to the Big Island and it was a last minute booking. We turned up quite late as we spent a day at the Volcano national park. Dennis the owner was pleased to see us late in the evening. He showed us the room and went through what we need to know (how to work tv, air bed etc).

We stayed at the king room the first night and twin the following night. We don't have air beds in UK, and they are so comfortable! Both rooms are clean and decorated in a cosy fashion (not modern boring deco). There is nothing you need that it wasn't in the room, including shaving foam, disposable razor, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, mosquito spray, many spare towels, beach towels, dressing gown, blankets, etc... There is also a fridge!

As for breakfast, it's really really good. Dennis put so much effort into preparing breakfast, he even laid the table facing the super sea view that they have. There is no shortage of food. 1st day - mixed fruit salad followed by homemade blueberry pancakes and crispy bacon. 2nd day - mixed fruit salad followed by steak, scramble eggs, hash brown, toasts and homemade jam/jelly/relish. Everything is homemade and tasted delicious!

You will not leave Plumeria Hill hungry! Dennis puts his heart and soul into his place, it's a wonderful pace. Don't put off that this isn't in Hilo or Kona, it's easy to find, and since you will have to drive anyway, please stay here and don't bother with those cheap budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book the king suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend really loved the place and don't regret that we booked it for 3 nights. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is awesome. Dennis who runs the place is also very friendly and helpful.

Note that the B&B is located out on the country side. You will probably not be able to use your cell phone, and you will most likely hear insects at night, and even find some in your room, that is however how life is on the country side.

What you do get in return is a wonderful sky at night. You'll probably see more stars than you ever have seen before. You will also have a great view of the ocean, and you are very close to some surf spots, a black sand beach, warm ponds, the closest side to the lava view and the roads around the are do really give some scenic views. You won't wake up in the middle of the night due to sirens or sounds from nightclubs or restaurants.

I will stay here again if I ever go back to Big Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wohlen, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was at Plumeria Hill for 8 relaxing nights and every breakfast was different and excellent! You like fresh fruits? Go there! If you need information about what to do nearby, Dennis is full of information! Rooms are really setup with love. Dennis, thank you for your hospitality! It was a pleasure!

Room Tip: Both double rooms have seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I can't help but feel slightly swindled after paying $180 to stay here for one night. For the same price I could have had four-star luxury elsewhere. Don't get me wrong: The place was quaint, and given some work it would be OK. But the shower had a lot of visible mold in it, and there was dust and dirt in obvious places. The outside had loose cables, uneven sidewalks, broken furniture, cobwebs, and other areas that would benefit from some attention.
The room had no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan and the open windows kept us cool. If you are averse to the sound of croaking coquí frogs, this is not the place for you.
Our host was very kind and attentive, and his breakfast was a delicious mix of fresh tropical fruits and a homemade fruit crepe.
But I still left there feeling I had paid way too much for what I got. There was a $15 fee per person for staying only one night, which was quite disappointing.
This was our first time in a bed and breakfast, so maybe I went in expecting hotel-style service; maybe you are supposed to put up with less cleanliness for the feeling of staying somewhere more home-like. It felt like I was staying at a friend's house but paying a lot of money to do so.
Overall, I would not stay here again. The owner meant well, but the price he is asking simply is not worth what he is selling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-1264 Kamaili Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Elegance in a Tropical Setting. Awesome Panoramic Ocean View. Spectacular Sunrises. Peaceful setting on 5 fenced acres. House furnished with many antiques. Sumptuous Luau Breakfast served on the upper lanai on your schedule. We wish to be in harmony with your dietary needs or allergy issues. Select Comfort Sleep Number® Beds in hand carved antique frames, HD flat screen Dish Network TV, internet access, sitting area with a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, phone, private bathroom with shower, larger suites have a wet bar, separate entrance. Comfortable and accommodating.Pleasant atmosphere to relax and renew. We intend to make your stay delightful. Stay with us for 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.