We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, excellent views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast
13-1264 Kamaili Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
lmagl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We visit the big island regularly and wanted to stay on the east coast. Plumeria Hill offered an excellent location. Fairly easy to find. The proprietors have owned this B&B for about 4 years and prior to that ran a B&B on the mainland. Many amenities are available: internet, sleep number bed, cable, robes, slippers, toiletries, fridge, coffee... Things that just make your stay that much more comfortable. The owners know the local area and can provide recommendations for places to eat and adventures to take (guided or not). Just step outside the room in the morning to sit and watch the sun come up on a true horizon unbroken by mountains, trees, or buildings. Really a lovely visit. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Big Island, Hawaii
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

If breakfast is a big part of why you choose a B&B, this one is sure to please you. We stayed in the Honua room and really liked the color scheme. I really liked how everything was labeled so there was no guesswork and we also really appreciated the non-deet bug spray available to use.

  • Liked — mellow color scheme
  • Disliked — padlocked gate
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

What a find! The room was lovely -- private, and well-appointed with a cooler, beach gear, and anything else you might need. It was very clean, tastefully decorated, and had a gorgeous, sweeping view of the ocean. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic, and the hostesses couldn't be nicer and more welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Liked — Private, relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

What a lovely little B&B! My family stayed here one night, and wish we'd had more time to explore this B&B and the surrounding area better!

The room was beautifully furnished in an Asian-Inspired, modern manner. I don't think I've been in a B&B that felt and smelled so clean (many tend to collect dust; this one certainly didn't). The main room came equipped with two double beds, a sitting area, kitchenette, & portable table (also a TV & many guide books, neither of which used). The private bathroom had some wonderful natural bodycare products for our use, thick towels, and had ample beach supplies for guests' use (though we didn't have a chance to use them).

Because we were leaving very early in the morning, we didn't have the opportunity to try their usual breakfast, but they left us some breads/pastries (store-bought) & some fresh fruit (good), coffee (very good), & strawberry-guava juice (didn't use).

It was just heaven to wake up, watch the sunrise, and hear the tropical birds, frogs, & insects singing. One of the more picturesque sunrises I have seen in my life.

The one negative was the HUGE cockroach in the bathroom, but I think this is more due to their location since there were a lot of insects flying around as we explored this part of the Big Island.

This B&B is very secluded -- when they say peace & quiet, they aren't kidding! -- with a beautiful, unspoiled view of the coast. Their website says they are on 5 acres, and I only wish my family and I had the time to explore it all. If we ever get back here, we will more than likely stay here again (and try out their onsite massages)!

  • Liked — Well-appointed, well-thought out room & amentities
  • Disliked — The cockroach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacortes,wash
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

Country setting, beautiful sweeping view of puna coastline in distance. Within 20 minutes of all Puna area sights. Hosts went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful time. Rooms lovely and stocked with everything you could possibly want!

  • Liked — amazing hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-1264 Kamaili Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Elegance in a Tropical Setting. Awesome Panoramic Ocean View. Spectacular Sunrises. Peaceful setting on 5 fenced acres. House furnished with many antiques. Sumptuous Luau Breakfast served on the upper lanai on your schedule. We wish to be in harmony with your dietary needs or allergy issues. Select Comfort Sleep Number® Beds in hand carved antique frames, HD flat screen Dish Network TV, internet access, sitting area with a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, phone, private bathroom with shower, larger suites have a wet bar, separate entrance. Comfortable and accommodating.Pleasant atmosphere to relax and renew. We intend to make your stay delightful. Stay with us for 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;