We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
13-3315 Makamae Street, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHT
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Petra, our host made a memorable visit to Hawaii for us.
Not only did we enjoy a stay in her lovely house with beautiful tropical gardens and enjoy a home cooked breakfast every morning, she took the time out to give us excellent advice on things to do and see in the local area and even lent us her own maps.
The lava flow boat trip she recommended was awesome!

Abby and Eric from UK :o)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    62
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
119
266
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hale Makamae for the night before our Sunrise Lava Boat excursion to see the active lava flow into the ocean. The location of Hale Makamae was extremely convenient for our 4:30 a.m. departure time, and I'd recommend that anyone planning a trip to The Big Island stay here for at least 1-2 nights and reserve for a sunrise lava tour (through Lava Ocean Adventures) . We had a fantastic experience with our lava tour, and Captain Shane and the crew made sure that we got the best view possible of the lava. In addition to a trip with Lava Ocean Adventures, Hale Makamae is also very close to the Kapoho tide pools, which offer a not-to-be-missed snorkeling experience. There was also great dining in the nearby town of Pahoa.
Petra and John made us very welcome, and gave us lots of great inside advice on the most scenic routes in the area and things to do during the rest of our stay on The Big Island. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and our room was clean and comfortable. The grounds around the B&B were very beautiful, with lots of tropical flowers. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to others as a perfect base from which to explore Puna, Volcanoes National Park, and the Hilo area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hale Makamae, a great spot to visit the South and East coast of Big Island. We were 2 couples in the Lanai Suite, great room. The breakfast were excellents, and most of all, the hosts so welcoming it's hard to leave. Their recommendations were all great, telling us that it'll be OK driving to the top of Mauna Kea with our 2WD Cobalt, to the Volcanoes NP tips, and the nice beaches (including the black sand clothing optional one), lava sightings, and an amazing snorkeling place where we saw turtles resting in little pools. Amazing.
Hilo is a 30 min drive, Volcanoes as well. Mauna Kea is quite further, but it's a beautiful drive in he middl of the lava flows.
We cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hale Makamae B&B for 4 nights during our 10-day stay on the Big Island. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Our hosts Petra and John were both very friendly and knowledgeable. They were able to tell us about places and things that weren't covered in our tour books. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast, fresh fruit and coffee. The room we stayed in was very clean and just the right size for the two of us. And the grounds surrounding the home are beautiful. The B&B is tucked away on a very quiet street, but you are still close enough to the main roads that lead to the nearby sites/parks. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying on the island, even if it's just for one night. You will be very glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betti_O
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

.... that was our feeling after staying at Hale Makamae! We loved the location (15 min from actual lava flow, 15 min from "downtown" Pahoa, 25 min from volcano visitor center, 30 min from Hilo), the wonderful breakfast (big variety of fresh island fruit besides fresh toast, jam, juice, tea, coffee etc...), the great hospitality of the hosts (they are adorable and very helpful wth travel tipps) and the sounds of the rain forrest at night (tree frogs etc..)!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Hale Makamae for four nights and loved it. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed was comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the hosts were friendly and very helpful in assisting us with suggestions of things to see and do, and the landscaping was beautiful. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and wish we would have stayed for the entire vacation at this one place. Beautiful, friendly, helpful...what else can I say. We will be going back there!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-3315 Makamae Street, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.