We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in torrential downpour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
13-3315 Makamae Street, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHT
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in torrential downpour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here during a bizarrely rainy time. I say bizarrely because our host, Petra, says she had only experienced rain like we had once before.

Hale Moana is located in a residential area near Pahoa. Petra has a large garden (which we didn't really use because of the rain), but it's very green and colourful.

The suite was very nice. Big room, nice bathroom, big living room and kitchen area. She serves a good breakfast in a breezeway between where the suites are and her house. They were good breakfasts, which she serves at 8:30. Some of B&B served from 7-10, but 8:30 is her time, which is fine. You just need to schedule your early morning around that.

Petra will inform you of the goings on in the area. She knows about markets, lava flows, she'll let you know which local restaurants give her clients discounts, etc.

The area is fantastic for a number of things. It's a fairly hippy area, so you can go to a farmer's market and see some interesting characters. There are beaches nearby that are good for surfing. Volcanos National Park is about 45 minutes away. If the weather isn't good, you can try about 45 minutes and go to a different climate zone.

I would certainly recommend Hale Moana B&B. Petra is a great host and she'll treat you very well, in a very professional manner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    62
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
119
266
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hale Moana was excellent. It was in a great location for all we wanted to do on the Island and was a lovely peaceful place to unwind at the end of the day. We started each day with a delicious breakfast and conversation with Petra about our plans for the day. She provided guidance and made recommendations that were spot on. We had such a good time and can't wait for a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Petra obviously is in the right line of work. From the moment we inquired about staying at The Hale Moana (colleagues recommendation) we received prompt and professional replies, updates on what was happening at The Volcano (within half hour drive), other local attractions and activities, even Christmas wishes. My wife and I are both in the service industry, and we call this kind of attention "value added service"... which continued with the spotless accommodations, wonderful breakfasts (loved the coffee),and personal day planning. The property is a botanical paradise with all kinds of exotic trees and plants and lush manicured lawn. Thank-you again Petra, you made our vacation to "The Big" even more special!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

An excellent place to stay in the South East corner of Hawaii. Easy access to coast, parks and restaurants in Pahoa. Clean, modern, and very pleasant. I stayed in 5 B&Bs on the tour. This was among the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hale Moana was perfect in every aspect for our trip to the Hilo side of the island. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Makamae Studio, which was just right for the two of us. It had a spacious closet, bed, mini-fridge, TV and nice bathroom. It also had it's own private access so we didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone (which was great because we left early one morning and arrived late at night from all of our adventures around the area).

Petra was a wonderful hostess! She greeted us, showed us our room and gave us great tips on where to grab dinner. The breakfasts were wonderful (so much so that we skipped lunch because we were still so full). At breakfast the first day, Petra sat down with us and provided a map with highlighted attractions and gave us directions on where to go and what to see. Prior to arriving, Petra emailed with step by step directions on how to get there. She also mailed us a welcome letter, brochures and all the necessary information on the B&B. She even followed up with a personal email thanking us for staying with them. It was all-around a wonderful experience!

It is the perfect location for visiting the Volcano National Park and the Puna area. We will definitely be hoping to stay here again for our return visit!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Although my wife and I stayed in the smallest and least expensive room at the B and B, the room was stopless, the bed was comfortable, and we had a great stay. The grounds are beautiful and the owner, Petra, is very hospitable and knowledgable. The breakfast was tasty and bountiful. However, as with most all B and B's in Hawaii, I would recommend arriving before dark, as it might be difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hale Moana was everything you could want in a B&B. The room was emaculate, spacious and well appointed.Had a great bed and bath, large sitting area and an added plus of a kitchenette with fridge, stove top, and coffee pot. Petra was very welcoming, had a local map marked up for each new visitor as well as a detailed explanation of how to get to whatever sights you might like. Over the top breakfast including fresh fruit and a different hot selection every day. The home is nestled on a large property that is a beautiful tropical garden. Perfect location for exploring the Puna area, including Volcano National Park.


Petra's attention to detail from the first contact to our final fairwell was superb.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-3315 Makamae Street, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.