We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Tree Tropic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lava Tree Tropic Inn to your Saves list
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Lava Tree State Park #3, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Berlin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

After our short first visit in 2003 we had the luck to be back to Hawaii in fall 2008 for longer. Certainly we spend most of the time with activities like snorkling, rainforest hikes and our favourite: lava watching. Irene's bed'n'breakfast is not only located perfectly for those activities - it is also the most hospitable place you could imagine and you get lots of insider tips! Your host prepares breakfast with the fruits from the garden and self made and tasty jam and bread. The rooms are clean and have the same warm aura like Irene herself. If you are after a 5-star luxus resort don't come here, but if you like friendly flair in a natural environment you will love it. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
43
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Had a wonderful stay at the lava tree tropic Inn. Irene the host was warm and friendly and very interesting to talk to. The property is tucked away next to the lava tree state park in a tropical rainforest. The property has heaps of charm and the rooms are nicely furnished. And with cats and chickens roaming round as well as the croak of the frogs at night, you really feel as if you are in the wilds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We had the most wonderful stay at the Lava Tree Inn while on the East side of Hawaii. We had no idea what to expect and had never stayed here before. We had stayed several nights earlier in the week at larger full service hotels and were a little apprehesive at first. But, when we arrived, we were greeted by Irene, the proprietor and she introduced herself and showed us around the place. It was like heaven, secluded, wildlife all around, various types of ginger and flowers surrounding the Lenai, orchard of maccadamia nuts at your full disposal with nutcracker on the Lenai!!! Incredible fruit trees all around.

Irene was extremeley hospitable taking time to make sure we were comfortable with the surroundings, and showed us to our rooms which were fantastic. My wife and I had the full suite and kids another room with 2 beds which accomodated us very nicely. Beds were very comfortable, and we got great sleeps at night with the backdrop of the chorus of frogs and birds singing.

Before bed, Irene always asked us what time we wanted breakfast and accomodated our schedules. She also provided a lot of local insight to the area and sightseeing at Volcanoes, Tide Pools, nearby Town for restaurants, and even provided discount vouchers for meals. One morning she was kind enough to take us swimming at the nearby hot springs early in the morning to accomodate our schedule and showed us the area.

Every morning, Irene made breakfast to die for with fantastic home made breads, cheese spreads, guacamole, jam, fresh sqeezed juices, and the most fantastic assortment of fresh fruits, many right from the grounds.

She also invited us to join in in playing music with other locals on the Lenai or be left alone. We enjoyed it immensely.

We recommend this Inn to anyone who wold like to experience the local culture.

Thanks Irene for a wonderful experience. Bruce, Cindy, Lisa and Brett.

  • Liked — Seclusion and Tropical Forest Setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This place had so much character! I agree with a lot of the other reviews. It is out in the middle of the countryside and close to the Volcanos national park and tide pools. We had a great time here.

The place is set in quite a lot of land and is very peaceful. You are met by the cat who is very talkative. Irene was great with us. She drove us to the nearby hot pools for a morning swim which was absolutely amazing and did her best to organise a boat trip to see the lava flows.

The breakfast was a real treat: it's on the lanai with hens clucking around you whilst you eat their fresh eggs. Some of the menu is Hungarian food which was a treat.

This place is for you if you are interested in getting to know a place...if you want a big hotel experience obviously don't bother but if you want to get to know Hawaii this place rocks!

  • Liked — The location and the owner making you feel at home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

My friend and I spent two very pleasant nights in the Lava Tree Tropic Inn. It was tricky to find in the dark but once we had found it (with Irene's help on the telephone) we weren't disappointed! Our beds were comfortable and the room clean. It's obviously someone's home and not a commercial property, I think that's a good thing. The house had lots of character in a beautiful setting, I wish my own home was as interesting!

Breakfast was a real treat with freshly made bread, freshly picked fruit (mere minutes before!) and freshly laid eggs. The owner, Irene, was very helpful and friendly, on the first morning we joined her in an early morning swim in the nearby natural hot pool.

If you prefer a characterless and clinical motel or hotel then this may not be the place for you. On the other hand, if you fancy spending some time in a relaxing location with a real character and great breakfasts then this is the one!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing to speak of
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

First of all don't spring for the jacuzzi because you want a nice couple's bath - its Japanese style so its meant for sitting up right in and only one person can fit. If you want a private bath then its worth getting the room - but not for a large tub.

If you decide to stay - then I wouldn't recommend breakfast. Its not very good or filling and takes too long. If you like chatting with the guests and the owner then go ahead but I thought it was mostly a waste of time.

Price wise this is a lot cheaper then the hotels in the area. In terms of price I think its a decent deal and I'm not terribly unhappy about that.

What I did like is the location. Its quite - yes there are frogs at night on this part of the Island but I thought it was quaint as I live in a busy city. The area is very lush - lots of really beautiful trees and bushes. If you want to be near Hilo and Volcano Park then this is a great location. Its not terribly hard to find the B&B even though its not on a major road.

I liked our room but was very surprised that the bed wasn't made up during out 3 day stay nor were the towels changed either.

Had the hostess been nicer, the brunch either laid out buffet style or served promptly and with more substance than I would have given a higher ranking.

Also I would encourage my friends to look at some of the rentals in Volcano village. Volcano village has nice resturants (better than I expected) and still isn't very far from the beach or Hilo.

  • Liked — The location and size of the room.
  • Disliked — The owner and the breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lava Tree Tropic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Tree Tropic Inn

Address: Lava Tree State Park #3, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Lava Tree Tropic Inn in has a wrap-around lanai (verandah) with three separate sitting areas where you can enjoy your morning coffee, relax with a good book, or just sit and take pleasure in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lava Tree Tropic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Tree Tropic Inn Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Tree Tropic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.