We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava Tree Tropic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Tree Tropic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lava Tree Tropic Inn to your Saves list
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lava Tree State Park #3, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
High Rolls Mountain Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lava Tree Tropic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Lava Tree Tropic Inn. The room was spacious and opened onto an upstairs balcony. Our bathroom was down the hall but was not shared with others at the inn. The inn is at the end of the road in the middle of nowhere just past the Lava Tree State Park - which made it quiet and peaceful and worth finding. The food was excellent. Irene was friendly and informative and walked the grounds with us telling us about the different trees and plants. The mama hen and baby chicks scurring about as we had breakfasts on the back porch were a bonus. I would highly recommend it if you want to get away from the towns and commercial hotels. Irene gave us a hand drawn map of a nice triangle drive along the southeast corner of the island complete with points of interest to stop and see and recommended places to eat in the nearby town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The BnB's location is unique: in the middle of the rain forest. The garden is paradise-like and delivers the fresh ingredients of the rich and relaxing breakfast: Papaya, passion fruits, pineapple, bananas and avocado. The host is very friendly and provides tips for the 1000 things you can explore from here ( lava watching, hikes, swimming in naturally heated pools, etc.). The rooms are clean and each one has an individual flair. WLAN is included. We will come back next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanno96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We bought out the entire Inn for our wedding. Irene is amazing -- fantastic breakfast, wonderful hospitality, and a great B&B that is really like someone's real home. If you want one of those prissy B&Bs with teddy bears and cutsie bric-a-brack, then go somewhere plastic, new, and with no soul. The nasty reviews are from people who probably need to be at a resort. Irene's home is just that -- a home, not a house. Shared baths in all but the master suite, which has two rooms plus the bathroom. If you are a light sleeper, all of Hilo and Puna have the invasive critter, the coqui frogs, so bring earplugs if you want complete silence -- You can't escape them anywhere on the "wet" side of the island. Breakfast is fantastic, and if you happen to be there on Friday afternoon, there's a bunch of people who get together at Irene's place to play ukuleles and sing!!!

Room Tip: Get the big master suite with bath for a very romatic stay for two!!! Absolutely open and good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely stay in the Lava Tree Inn. Situated on the East side of the island away from the large tourist areas and in huge grounds of the national park adjacent to where you can see formations of lava that many years ago bound around the trees leaving huge statues of lava. We found the setting could not have been better and we felt miles away from the tourist crush in a lovely old colonial style house with a large veranda, that was well furnished and homely. The inn offers very affordable bed and breakfast rooms and a professional but exceptionally warm welcome from the host and owner, Irene. The house presented an ideal retreat from the day to day rush of the real world and we felt relaxed, welcomed and safe.

The rooms are well furnished and are more than you would expect for a more price conscious b&b. Everything was very clean and we saw the staff coming in each morning making great detail of cleanliness and good order. We would point out that the Lava Tree inn offers rooms from around $100 a night so we had no expectation of the trappings of the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip that ranged from $400 to $1250 per night. This was very much for us about experiencing the non tourist side of Hawaii and getting away from it all in the feel of someones Hawaiian home.

We would recommend this place to travelers wanting to find a beautiful peaceful and homely retreat on the Big Island. For us it was the warmth and hospitality of Irene and the others there who really made our stay special. Irene listed out points of interest for us to visit, lent us snorkels and flippers and made sure that any need we had was attended to.

Breakfast was served from around 7.30 to about 9.00am and consisted of a lovely range of home made rolls, jams, muesli and fruit. Often with produce picked from the garden. We liked the informality of having our morning meal with other guests and being able to chat about their experiences of both the island and their lives, as guest visited from around the world. As the inn is quite small and attracts people looking for the real Hawaii, then the people staying seemed more willing to be sociable and helpful.

The area surrounding the Inn was beautiful. Hawaii has 10 micro climates that can range from desert to rain forest and even snow in as little as 50 miles. The Lava tree in is situated in a rain Forrest type micro climate. Sunny (for us) during the day - in fact beautifully warm and just as we had hoped for - and pouring with rain at times in the night. The garden was alive with noises from the local birds and Coqui (pronounced cookie) frogs that abound. The noise was really quite magical and we even sent a recording back to our friends in the UK via facebook.

Again, the East side of the island we found totally different from the West. This area is much more for local people and settlers looking for their dream of Hawaii. I've got to admit they have made a pretty good job of realising it. The local town was more a strip of wooden built buildings, all individual and interesting. The two restaurants we tried served some of the best food we have had. fresh, well prepared, great ingredients and with some genuine skill. The atmosphere welcoming and happy. On Friday night the town became alive with music. Jazz, Blues and many other sorts. Each of the bars offering something for their clientele who for what we could see were predominately local, so the feeling was much more genuine and for the community.

There are very few places long haul that I would say we would visit again, as there are so many places we want to visit. But Irene's Inn is one on our list that we would definitely return to if we get a chance to see Hawaii again.

The Lava Tree Inn with Irene's hospitality gave us a wonderful and memorable retreat in what we think is one of the nicest areas of Hawaii's Big Island. We'd want travelers to know that it is what it says - a bed and breakfast and one very reasonably priced (well I'd say Irene charges too little). You will maybe notice that the crockery does not all match or that the towels are different colours or that the bedrooms have no TV or coffee making. For us, after two weeks of 5 star staying in Mexico (our immediately prior stop on route) was a very welcome return to a little normality. If you want white Irish linen, room service, a mini bar and the trappings of luxury then do as we did and book a luxury hotel as well. But if you want to experience a tranquil Hawaiian home where the attitude is calm, peace and goodwill then try The Lava Tree Inn.

Room Tip: The inn has one en-suite and the rest have shared bathrooms - book early if an en-suit is a must. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent one week in Lava Tree Tropic Inn last December. The house and its beautiful garden offer uncomparable retreat in the middle of a tropical forest, right next to the Lava Tree State Monument. The scents, sounds and views are awesome. Irene is the most helpful host and she provides a lot of tips and stories about the Island. Breakfasts on the terrace are a great way to start the day - you cannot have anything better than fruit fresh from the garden and everyday a different dish. Rooms are spacious and have large balconies. The bathrooms are shared between two rooms. The location is great for visiting the Puna coast and Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, but going to the Kona coast or north to Kohala is also within 2 hours. There are a few interesting restaurants in Pahoa, 10 minutes by car (especially the Thai and Hawaiian Kaleos). In summary, wonderful place, perfect for relaxing holidays!

Room Tip: All good, you'll get the coqui sound anyway:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malinowynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are nice and clean, and the grounds are beautiful. The host also provides excellent breakfasts, and she is very helpful in planning trips to sights in the area. The location is convenient to visit the Volcano National Park as well as the nearby lava fields. The property is adjacent to Lava Tree State Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Irene was a lovely and welcoming host to her home. The accommodation was clean and well looked after, as were we. It's a spectacular location in the state park and breakfast on the terrace every morning was picturesque and very tasty(and enough to keep you going for hours, just don't expect it to be quick). Plenty of wildlife in the area which we feel added to the experience. Please be aware it can be hard to find on your first go, especially if it's in the dark. Also the track to the house is a bit bumpy (and is a track) so go steady!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
19.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
19.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Tree Tropic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Tree Tropic Inn

Address: Lava Tree State Park #3, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Tree Tropic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lava Tree Tropic Inn B&B has a wrap-around lanai (verandah) with three separate sitting areas where you can enjoy your morning coffee, relax with a good book, or just sit and take pleasure in the view. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lava Tree Tropic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Tree Tropic Inn Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing