We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, wonderful steam vents, clean airy room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat
Save
You added Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat to your Saves list
13-3775 Kalapana Hwy, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
San Francisco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, wonderful steam vents, clean airy room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We loved the Steam Vent Inn! We regretfully only stayed two nights. Would have loved to spend another day lounging in their peaceful garden and their naturally heated pool. The steam vents were amazing too. I loved the care the owners have put into the grounds, creating a real oasis. Make sure to try a smoothie at breakfast.

  • Liked — Steam vent and natural pool
  • Disliked — Small shared kitchen where you had take turns cooking meals
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

The steam room and pool were amazing. I would return just to lazy around in the pool. Away from the rest of civilization, it makes a great location for going on short hikes and walking in the lava fields. The accomodations were ok. No a/c, so you can hear all the talking/walking of the family who owns the inn. Make sure you plan for eating as everything closes relatively early and restaurants and markets are a long drive away.

  • Liked — Steam vent pool
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Tips/Secrets — bring food and your shoes!!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

I've been to the Steam Vent Inn 2 times. In 2005 and 2006. If you're looking for a hilton, don't go there. If you want a beautiful view, steam vent shower and sauna, lava-heated hot pond and friendly staff then you should definately check it out. I don't understand the bad reviews, you can always go see the steam vent inn before you decide to stay there. Once you saw it you wouldn't want to leave. I am personally friends with the owners. If you're looking for a healing retreat and natural remedies then it's the perfect place for you. I quit smoking while I was there. They serve fresh fruits and eggs from their trees and chickens. Everyone is welcome and you can meet a variety of people while you stay there. It is definately a worthwhile experience. You get a clean room and kitchen to cook and eat in. It's a big house thats been made into a bed and breakfast and health retreat. I will probabaly be back there again soon! See you there.

  • Liked — I liked the friendly service and good memories.
  • Disliked — I least liked that there wasn't many channels on the tv, no cable.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's probably not for you if you're not spiritual.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2005

this is my favorite place to stay on the big island. hands down. i read this other persons review and was schocked. if you want to goto hawaii and have a sterile experience, go to the hilton , in fact dont even bother visiting puna. Ive stayed at the steam vent inn about 4 times and every time was awesome. The highlights were the steam vents (obviously) in the backyard , there is a shed built around a natural steam vent , its a wonderful experience to steam in natural steam. also (imnot sure if this always comes with room , but )when i was there the owner made us breakfast from fresh eggs from his chickens, fresh fruit from his trees - even fresh sqeezed orang juice. the owner is very nice. perfect place to r+r between adventures.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2004

We were there in July 2004. I had made arrangements with the owners of the Steamvent Inn to rent the Oceanside Ohana. (The Oceanside Ohana is a seperate house across the street from the ocean in a completely different towncalled Kapoho than was the Steamvent inn.) I paid in full which was big mistake. When I got there the cleanliness was not up to my standards.The windows dirty, floor dirty, refridgerator dirty,no phone, no hot water and stained sheets. I went to the owners and asked for my monies back. The owner was pleasent but tried to remedy the problem with a quick cleaning that wasn't sufficent. The next day we tried to get our money back again and the owner himself went to clean the house it was better but still no good for us with the Hawaiian cockroaches flying everywhere .I wasn't able to sleep at night.
We stayed 5 out 8 nights and I finally said this isn't worth it and made one last attempt to get some money back and with that the owner scolded me and said that he was shocked that I would consider getting any refund because I had negotiated a good deal. I explained that I was hoping he would understand that his Oceanside Ohana just wasn't up to my cleanliness and we were not having a good vacation because of our scary place of refuge. Oh well, lesson learned. I lost 3 nights paid accomidations and had to go elsewhere to pay someone else to make our vacation end on a good note.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat

Address: 13-3775 Kalapana Hwy, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to paradise! Experience our relaxing and tastefully furnished accommodations, ideal for visiting couples or small groups desiring healing retreats or extraordinary corporate meetings. Amenities include ocean views & Hawaii's only lava heated steam saunas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Steam Vent Inn And Health Retreat
Steam Vent Hotel Health Retreat
Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat Hawaii/Pahoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.