We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food & service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaleo's Bar & Grill

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
15-2969 Pahoa Village Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-965-5600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Pahoa
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to our server, Kimberly and Kaleo's for helping us celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved the Poke appetizer, the fantastic house salad with exquisite citrus dressing and our amazing crusted Ono. Well done and thanks for being open despite the tropical storm. Mahalo!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    106
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
koweit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in pahoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's a nice restaurant, where the food is excellent and the waitress so nice, smiley and so patient and helpful.
the owners of the place are also wonderful people with a great aloha spirit !
It's a place not to be missed !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great find in rustic Pahoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are in Pahoa and are looking for Hawaiian cuisine with a modern twist, you will enjoy dining at Kaleo. The restaurant was recommended by the host of the Bed & Breakfast we stayed at and it exceeded our expectations.

We ate there for dinner. It was pretty crowded when we arrived at 6PM, with a lot of locals but we did not have to wait much (about 10 minutes). There were two hula dancers and live music when we arrived making for a very inviting and casual atmosphere. We ate in the main dining room and had great service.

We had the hummus as appetizers and were told by our B&B host to try the pork and cabbage (a Hawaiian favorite). The kids had pasta bolognese. We all shared the decadent chocolate cake. Everything was excellent, very well seasoned. We could not help but sneak to see what other people were getting. We were definitely not expecting a restaurant like that in Pahoa out of all places! It was one of the culinary highlights of our trip. We will definitely go back next time we are in town!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife, daughter and I came here our first night in Pahoa on a recommendation. Great tip. The food was excellent. The service was a bit slow but not terrible. Although you couldn't tell it from the outside, this is likely the best restaurant on the Hilo coast. Don't drive past.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“decent food but the music is too loud for conversation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have always enjoyed dining at Kaleo's because the food is quite good. Over the years, we have learned that if we want to have conversation during dinner it is best not to sit in the main dining room. On our last visit, the music was so loud it precluded conversation on the patio too.

Going out to eat is more than just the food and wine list. We'll stop going there if we can't enjoy the evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaleo's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.