We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaleo's Bar & Grill

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
15-2969 Pahoa Village Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-965-5600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Pahoa
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Loved the food. One of the nicer restaurants in the area. Enjoyed our recommended cocktails. We ordered local favorites and thought they were both delicious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    106
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of it for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had the ribs and they were fall off the bone delicious. My hubby had the burger da kine and it was huge and delicious. Good atmosphere. Nice music

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food & cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Kaleos twice now and I think we will be going back before our trip is over! The restaurant is great, ample parking and plenty of seating inside. The staff are great, very attentive and have a good knowledge of the food on the menu. The cocktails are wonderful - I had a Mauna Kea Sunrise, delicious! The food is unbelievable! I had steak with garlic mash the first night, which was so good. The steak was cooked to perfection. I enjoyed it so much that I nearly ordered it on the second night but persuaded myself to have something different so I chose the Kalua pork and cabbage which again was delicious! The only negative was that I didn't eat it all because I was stuffed! 10/10 to Kaleos, the best dining experience we have had so far on Big Island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ate at Kaleos twice last week. This a friendly, relaxed restaurant with fantastic cocktails. The entertainment was great as well but i agree could be overpowering - the patio tables are much calmer. The burgers went down well with the kids and the poke was the best we had in Hawaii. Suggest reservations at weekened. Staff very accomodating. good with the kids as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stop for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a really nice evening at Kaleo's. When we pulled into the parking lot, a sweet young man directed us into a parking space. We had made reservations for a table across the room from the music because we had read that the music could be too loud but there was a very low key and good guitarist that night. We had a great server, good drinks and sauteed ahi with a crust of sesame seeds and a wasabi sauce, veggies and rice. The fish was cooked perfectly to our taste ( just seared quickly so it was rare in the center) and it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaleo's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.