We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalaekilohana to your Saves list
Kalaekilohana
94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Save 90
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying at Kalaekilohana after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed.

We had been travelling around the island all day and got there at sunset. The house is gorgeous and our inn keepers were very welcoming. As it was a Monday and getting late, we were given a suggestion for dinner back in town which was very quick & easy. When we returned we sat with our hosts on the verandah and enjoyed a glass of wine and good conversation.

The room was big and comfortable, the bathroom was huge, the bed was even more comfortable! We both had a great sleep and in the morning were greeted with a large breakfast of pancakes with lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. As written elsewhere, all food is locally sourced or grown on site, and it is great.

We stayed two nights and as we were returning late from the Volcano National Park we were uncertain what to do for dinner. Our hosts suggested as we were the only people staying that night that we could dine with them. This was a great idea and we enjoyed a wonderful meal and more good times.

We enjoyed the attention to detail and the welcoming feel of this beautiful house. It is a very comforting place to be. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and were able to provide lots of information on the area and things to do, including a CD for the drive to the southern most point of the island.

We would highly recommend Kalaekilohana!

Thank you Kenny & Kilohana. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
126
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The house, built to be a B&B, was beautiful. Hard woods, tropical but soothing colors, tasteful decor with a cultural bent. The rooms, both common and the bedrooms, were spacious. Food, coffee, tea... all wonderful. But what I liked especially was getting to know our hosts. Ask about the feather art and other objects in the house. If you're interested in dance, ask about the Merrie Monarch festival... the hosts may even have a video you can watch!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our hosts were such wonderful people. Not only do they send you off equipped with local knowledge, a beach towel, folding chair and a cold box for your packed lunch - but they also prepare the most amazing breakfast I have ever had in my life. Oh, that maple bacon.....and the hand selected fruit WOW.
The hosts are worldly people who provide luxury and attention to detail service in a down to earth and homely environment.
The rooms will leave you with no complaints, and the bathrooms were luxurious. If you want to be half way between both ends of the island, this is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife & I had the pleasure to stay 2 nights here (Ekahi Suite). A roomy and beautiful room with access to an outdoor porch. This B & B is even better than the pictures reflect. The hosts, Kenny & Kilohana are exceptionally friendly, polite, gracious and were very accomodating to insure our stay was special. My favorite part of the day was waking up to the wonderful aromas of a special breakfast prepared by Kenny. (Pay no attention to another reviewer that made negative comments about breakfast, they obviously didn't know what they were talking about). This location may be just a little bit out of the way but is well worth the extra few minutes to get there. It is located very close to a terrific Black sand beach & the far southern most point of the Big Island. From the B & B we made day trips to the volcano, Botanical Garden (north of Kilo), visitor center on Mauna Kea to observe the stars (one of the best locations to do so in the world), black sand beach & shopping in Kilo (Island Candies, Hilo Farms Coffee Mill, farmers market, etc). Next trip, we will certainly plan on spending more relaxing time at the B & B unwinding with a glass of wine or another beverage of choice (they have a refrigerator to store anything guests would like to bring and drink).
This will go down in our memories as one of the best B & B's we have been to (& there have been many). Especially suggested for a special romantic getaway (it was our belated honeymoon). :) Cheers & Aloha.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

If you want a restful, relaxing and rejuvenating experience, I would HIGHLY recommend Kalaekilohana. We chose Kalaekilohana because of its close proximity to the green sand beach and also because I saw a special about them on the morning news. The breakfast and the ambiance are what attracted me the most! They made a special three-course 50th anniversary dinner for my parents that was so delicious! Not only was this a beautiful and wonderful bed and breakfast, Kenny gave us helpful tips and great recommendations for our hiking adventure! Mahalo nui loa to Kilohana and Kenny !

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at 4 different B&B's well on the island, this was not only the best B&B on the Big Island it was the best overall B&B that we have ever stayed in. When we travel we love to stay in B&B's and have stayed in some pretty nice luxury B&B's, but this toped them all. Kenny and Kilohana are genuinely wonderful hosts. They have created the perfect environment, they've put thought into every detail and you can tell that they love what they do. The food was amazing, coffee was fantastic (this is important to me and hard to find :) It was like being home, now I know why the one couple there was back for there third year in a row!! Well done! Thanks again for such a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I have been coming to Kaleikilohana for the past 4 years and at least more than twice a year with a group of fellow Lauhala weavers. I love everything about our stay, the food is outstanding ( locally sourced), perfect location and weather for our weaving,sleep like a baby, it's a home away from home and Kenny :& Kilohana are the best, they really spoil us, you always leave with a true sense of the real old style Hawaiian Hospitality.

Room Tip: every room is great with awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Kalaekilohana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaekilohana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.