We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a stand out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Hou Restaurant

Hana Hou Restaurant
95-1148 Spur Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
(808) 929-9717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Naalehu
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not a stand out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stopped here enroute to Volcanos National Park, and we were hoping for so much more after reading reviews on this website. Perhaps it was just an "off" day for the restaurant, but in our opinion the food was just bleh. Nothing to write home about. Just okay. We were hungry, and we filled up on the pulled pork, but it was nothing special. Service was slow, with an indifferent server, and while we each had a slice of pie neither of us thought the pies lived up to the reputation which preceded them. There is always a bit of fun in walking into eateries which have not updated their interiors for decades, and have no desire to do so, but for us, the Hana Hou could use some generous overall cleansers and polishes. When we vacation in Hawaii, we are not looking for "take or leave it" experiences, and unfortunately, the Hana Hou impressed us less positively than we'd prefer to report.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    92
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Blast from the past, with present well represented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This diner is like eating in your Aunt's kitchen in 1965. The food is hearty and good, with some wonderful healthy options. The desserts are just like mom used to make. Hana Hou is one of the few restaurants on this South Side of the Big Island, and we just enjoyed every bite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Southernmost by Geography only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The baked goods (turnovers) we got here for the next morning's breakfast were good.

The meal we had left much to be desired. The lau lau plate was virtually flavorless. Wife enjoyed the loco moco and there was plenty of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Would stop here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way from Volcano to Kona. The food was very tasty and good portion sizes. This restaurant is very casual, more like a cafe than a restaurant. You seat yourself and there were only two waitresses that tag team your table. They have some food already prepared ready to grab and go incase you are in a hurry. Don't forget to get dessert, even if you take it to go! We got a slice of macadamia nut cream pie. After an hour in the car the fresh whip cream was still perfect on top. It was so good, I can still taste it! We definitely would stop here again. I also noticed a lot of locals picking up food to go. Always a good sign.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My neighbor and I have been coming here for a few years. We drive over 40 miles round trip just to get a great breakfast. Sometimes it does get pretty busy so a longer than average wait is expected since there is usually only one waitress on duty. But the food is delicious and I love the home made bread. I have referred many of our guest who stay with us and they all agree it's a great place to revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Hou Restaurant also viewed

 
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hana Hou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Hou Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.