We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Coffee Mill

Hilo Coffee Mill
17-995 Volcano Rd, Mountain View, Island of Hawaii, HI 96771
+1 808-968-1333
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on 24 beautiful acres in Mountain View, midway between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park, stands our farm, roasting building and retail sales facility. Come take a full tour of the farm (aprox. 1.5 Hours) or a mini tour (aprox. 20 Minutes) in our roasting room. Either way, it's fun for the whole family and you'll learn a lot about coffee, farming and even a little history. Kids won't even know they're learning because it's so much fun. Before or after your tour, be sure and enjoy a fresh light meal, using locally grown fruits and vegetables. We have one of the best Portuguese Bean soups around.Open Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri from 7:00am-4:30pm, Wed 7:00am - 2:00pm and Sat from 7:00am-4:00pm. Closed Sunday. If you're here on a Saturday, be sure and visit our small farmers' market with big aloha, where you'll find some real treasures, great produce, a wonderful breakfast and some great local music. It truly is Mountain View's Favorite Gathering Place. Every Saturday from 8:00am until 1:00pm. We'd love to meet you!
Kissee Mills, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped for an afternoon beverage - the lady at the counter was helpful and friendly and offered my husband some coffee samples, as well as telling us about the Coffee Mill. He had a frozen mocha and I had a Mango Mania smoothie - both were delicious. Just be on the lookout for it - there is only one fairly small low sign in front and we almost drove past, even though we were watching for it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful farm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our tour with Kaira. She was very friendly and informed, and we learned a lot about how the coffee is grown and harvested, even got to eat a coffee bean (still in its "shell") right off the bush. It rained a bit but didn't spoil our trip one bit. The grounds (the land, not the coffee! :-) ) were beautiful. There's also a little gift shop so plan on taking some coffee home. We got the caramel flavored coffee and are now enjoying it at home! We also stayed for lunch (selected menu). We had the chicken wraps. All of the produce is grown on the property, fresh and yummy.Thanks for a great tour!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Learning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped at the Hilo Coffee Mill as part of a day tour we had booked. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Pride of ownership in evident in everything they do and all they share. We were taken to an area where we learned a lot about coffee, the process of growing, harvesting and processing it. We had an opportunity to purchase coffee afterwards....once again, no hard sell. This company sells over the Internet and sometimes have free shipping. We plan to take advantage of that in the future

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great coffee, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went here to check out a Hawaiian coffee company and because they were having a farmer's market that was serving breakfast. One step into the door and the friendly staff was telling us all about the company and their operation and had us trying their coffee, chocolate covered coffee beans, chocolate covered macadamia nuts, wasabi covered macadamia nuts, and macadamia butter. Everything was fantastic. We went outside where there was a small farmers market and a stand to get breakfast. Had a great teriyaki steak and eggs breakfast (farm fresh eggs) and took a walk around the grounds. Awesome place and I highly recommend any coffee lover to check it out when in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great coffee amid some charming grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed the charge of the chickens when we got out of our car at this nice coffee and more shop. The grounds are really pretty and peaceful. And the coffee was outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Coffee Mill also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Holualoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Coffee Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Coffee Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.