We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than dinner, a true "Experience"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi's Italian Bistro

Mi's Italian Bistro
81-6372 Mamalahoa Hwy #103, Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750
808-323-3880
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mi's Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Reservations, Takeout
Mancos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than dinner, a true "Experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

While on a two week vacation on the big island, we found this wonderful restaurant. Although it is off the beaten path, it is well worth the search. We found this restaurant the night before we left and only wish we had found it earlier in our trip, would loved to have come back on this trip. By far, the best meal we had on the island and prices were comparable to other nice restaurants.

I had the Fresh Lasagna and my wife had the Pork Tenderloin. We were amazed as we watched the meal being prepared in the visible kitchen area. So much going on and yet so quiet. We were served by the owner and both meals were Fantastic ! Portions were large enough that I had to save room for Dessert. We decided to split the Banana Rum Flambe. We usually do the chocolate thing, but decided to be different tonight and boy did we make the right decision. It was Awesome ! Really enjoyed this dinner, a true experience !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    57
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had been waiting to go to Mi's for a special occasion without kids. We had a "just us" night for my birthday and, well, it was good, but not worth the wait. We got right in, the service was average but the food, it was just ok. We ordered the sweet and salty, then some salads, and watched the dishwasher help prepare our app. They all arrived at the same time, which was uncool and when I heard them fire out main I had to get up and go get the main server to ask them to hold our entrees. He said, "We can give you seven mintues." We were not in a hurry, why were they rushing our meal? The possibly main "chef" (which were a bunch of young looking kids) rubbed his face multiple times with his towel, that he rimmed plates with. All in all the food was good, not great, a lot of "Costco" looking cheeses. The kitchen didn't time food at all and I won't be going back. Sorry Mi's, you just fell flat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The husband-wife owners, whose initials explain the name of this Italian restaurant, do a brilliant job as chef and server - with two charming little daughters making occasional appearances. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much that we went back for a second meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food with a bit of flare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The chef clearly tries to turn the usual into something more. My eggplant parmesan was not traditional but tasty. The three of us all enjoyed our meals.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mi's is Mind Blowing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an incredible dining experience at Mi's! Talk about fantastic flavors, gorgeous platting and a well thought out menu...can't rave enough. From the beet salad and artsy bread basket containing home-made focaccia, to mind-blowing pastas, we can't wait to return. This little treasure is a bit hard to find as it is in a tiny strip mall, but well worth the search. GO! GO NOW!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi's Italian Bistro also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mi's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi's Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.