We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, ok chocolate balls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donkey Balls Factory and Store

Donkey Balls Factory and Store
79-7411 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750
(808) 322-1475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Attractions in Kealakekua
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donkey Balls feature 100% Hawaiian MacNuts enrobed in gourmet chocolate. We feature a variety of flavors in milk, dark, and dark and white chocolate combinations! Our mission is to provide gourmet chocolates, confections, and coffees while celebrating the history of Hawaii
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good coffee, ok chocolate balls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stopped here on advice from Big Island Revealed. Didn't find the chocolate to be anything special, perhaps the name Donkey Balls (marketing is everything) and a little on the pricey side, even for Hawaii.
However, hubby found that the Wild [--] coffee they sell actually kicks [--]. So not a total loss. Worth a quick stop, but don't go out of your way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A must STOP! Sample the candy,awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We read about this place in Big Island Revealed.it was worth the stop,bought some dark chocolate balls and a t shirt.if you drive to Capt Cook from Kona you MUST stop.price per bag is $6.95 for 4 oz bag...bought 2 flaky balls with coconut yummy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“great shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great gift shop. Staff was very helpfull with their product line. Free samples off great candy. Also very informative about what to see in the area. The owner is the best. Also Mr Butters the store kitty was entertaining.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Yum!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Tasty treats with a funny name. We saw the sign advertising Donkey Balls and curiosity got the best of us. They were delicious! Chocolate covered macadamia nuts in various flavors...dark or light chocolate, coated in powder sugar, mixed with cayenne pepper, and more. A little pricy but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cleverly marketed chocolate covered macadamias”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited the Donkey Balls Store in Kona. It was just a small store selling different varieties of chocolate covered macadamias. Again, you can get these anywhere and I didn't find the Donkey Balls that special. They do have many different kinds though including, white, dark, milk and other varieties. However, they do tend to be overpriced in my opinion. If you count the number of balls in a bag and compare that to the price, it comes out to be just under $1 per chocolate covered ball which, in my opinion, is a little steep.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donkey Balls Factory and Store also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Donkey Balls Factory and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donkey Balls Factory and Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.