We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasturtium Cafe--Best Meal on the Big Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nasturtium Cafe - CLOSED

Nasturtium Cafe
79-7491 B Mamalahoa Hwy, Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750
808-322-5083
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nasturtium Cafe--Best Meal on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had the best meal of our trip in the Big Island at this lovely cafe. Friends of ours had eaten there on their honeymoon and had recommended it to us--and I'm glad they did! Everything was fresh, delicious, used local ingredients and looked beautiful on the plate.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delcious, healthy, natural food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Such a wonderful place! Diane is an amazing chef! The food is fresh, local, and natural. Breakfast is wonderful... Vegan and gluten free options. Lunch is even better! HUGE salads and sandwiches! You must come visit; you will love it!

just wish they had extended hours! 9-3 :(

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple and local fresh food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Excellent salad and dressings. Excellent fruit juice and smoothies

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have been here several times on different trips. It is one of my favorite restaurants. We travel to the Big Island every year and we always make a special trip to this restaurant. Everything on the menu is delicious. The soups are to die for.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“terrific little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Lovely little cafe with an inspired menu.A little slow but worth the wait.The food is fresh ,interesting and well prepared.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasturtium Cafe also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nasturtium Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.