We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm glad we took the tour and didn't just rent a kayak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel

Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel
82-6020 Mamalahoa Highway, Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
+1 808-447-0080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 activities in Kealakekua
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kayak and snorkel tours offered at Kealakekua Bay and Capt Cook Monument - Hawaii's BEST snorkeling site! State of Hawaii permitted to provide both kayaking on Kealakekua Bay and to land at historic Ka`awaloa Cove in Kealakekua State Historical Park. In addition to paddling across beautiful and protected cobalt blue, warm, ocean waters and a 600' high pali (cliff), we commonly see Hawaiian spinner dolphins and dramatic tropic birds along our path. Join us in this amazing paradise...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I'm glad we took the tour and didn't just rent a kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed our kayak and snorkel tour with Adventures in Paradise. We did the first morning tour and we liked the fact that we were at the bay snorkeling for an hour before all of the tour boats showed up and it got crowded. I wasn't aware that the company has water shoes for you if you don't have your own and also wetsuits available if you get cold easily. Everyone was loaded in the van and taken down, we didn't drive separately. The water was very clear and there are a lot of different types of fish to see. There was a couple from Oahu in our group and they said the snorkeling here was better than on Oahu. One of our guides. Tyson, watched over a shallow rocky area that people would sometimes get pushed into by the waves unexpectedly (including my husband) and he would jump in and go help them get out safely. I noticed he also helped out others, regardless of whether or not they were actually in our tour group. We did see dolphins as we kayaked across the bay both times. There are restrooms near the landing area where we could rinse off and change before heading back to the meeting spot. Personally, I'm very glad we took a tour and didn't bother trying to kayak and snorkel on our own.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    6
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Guide and Best Value for Dollar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After researching all tour providers offering guided kayak trips of Kealakekua Bay (and even considering the shady, cheap, pier-side rentals), we decided to go with Adventures. Best decision ever!
First of all, after comparing prices, and tour length, we felt that Adventures offered the best bang for buck. Their tour was priced far more competetively than the other operators, and the tour was significantly longer in duration.
Our guide, Tyson, was a local fellow raised in the area, and he was absolutely fantastic! He really made the tour (in fact, he made this the highlight of our trip thus far). He was incredibly well versed in local human history, cultural heritage, and natural history of the area. He really provided us with a local's perspective and appreciation of the area. Tyson's committment to sustainable practises (not impacting the ecosystem in a negative way) was greatly appreciated. He was obviously very passionated about the area and his role in showcasing it in an educational, yet enjoyable way was wonderful. Of couse, he was also friendly, personable, and really took the tine to provide us with a very personalized tour.
I would strongly encourage everyone considering kayaking Kealakekua to book with Adventures!
Keep up the good work.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Kayak and Snorkel Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had an early start, 7:15AM, which helps with calmer water and beats the crowds in the big boats. It was a bit early for us as we had been up to 1:30AM due to a tsunami warning, which thankfully turned out to be a non-event.

The guides were very good about giving instructions and getting us into the water safely. Throughout the trip they were very good about being respectful of the environment and keeping us safe. There was a half hour paddle across the bay after getting in the water and it was a bit of work but even those who were novices made it across in good time. We were fortunate to be able to see some dolphins resting and a couple even were jumping in the distance, great to see. The snorkeling was excellent with lots of coral and fish to observe, we even were able to see a couple of spotted moray eels! This is one of the best snorkel spots that we had visited on big island.

The snacks and water hit the spot after an hour of snorkeling, the squares were a hit. Then it was back in for another snorkel, you would need a lot more time to see everything as it is a very large area. We all appreciated the guides for all the historical information, tips on what to see and do along with pointing out sights along the way as we motored to and from the kayak launch site.

Note there are restrooms at the kayak launch site along with showers.

Strongly recommend that you try this out to get a more intimate and personal experience on the big island!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you're thinking about taking a kayak/snorkeling tour while you're on the Big Island, book with these guys! We booked the 7am tour and our guide Ryan was just fantastic, great personality and shared lots of info and history about the island with us. I forgot sunglasses and they had loaners there as well as waterproof bags and handed out water for everyone, flippers and the masks/snorkels if you don't bring your own.

We were lucky enough to see the spinner dolphins in the water on the way out and back in from the monument which made for some awesome video and pictures. The kayak ride is maybe 20-30 minutes from the shore to the monument, it was my first time kayaking and I loved it! Landing on the shore is kind of tricky there are a lot of rocks and a TON of wasps flying around, a girl on our tour got stung. But Ryan had a first aid kit and patched her up and pulled us all on shore. He is very concerned with your safety and we saw some of then other tours letting their customers jump in to snorkel right by the waves and sharp rocks, but he walked us on a small path to the Captain Cook Monument and sets up camp there (MUCH safer, let me tell you!). Ryan told us about the Cpt Cook history and gave us a brief rundown of what to stay away from and how to snorkel, then let us jump in and explore, and I will say it made us feel much safer that he stays on the wall right there watching everyone and is a certified lifeguard (not just his own group, but others too, and the place gets really crowded about 9:30am).

We got to stay in the water for about an hour, maybe more, and it is just gorgeous out there! We were able to hear the spinner dolphins under the water echoing while we snorkeled which was so cool. Ryan sets up snacks on shore for you as well as more water if you get hungry, and they usually pack up when the big cruise ship with 100+ people comes in around 10am. It does get crowded as the morning goes on but with this tour we were the FIRST people out there and had the bay to ourselves for a good half hour or more. My husband cut his toe on the rocks when we were leaving and Ryan got the first aid kit again and cleaned it off, and patched him up.

This is the way to go if you want a great, safe, and fun tour! I am a beginner at both kayaking and snorkeling and I had no issues at all, so if you get a chance don't miss out on this tour, it'll be a memory you'll never forget!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The early morning kayak to kealakekua bay was outstanding. Kayaking there in a small group was so much more fun than being shipped in like cattle on a large boat with 100 other people!
We started the trip early in the morning to avoid the other tours as it becomes very busy by late morning. Our guide gave us a full orientation on both kayaking and snorkelling and was very knowledgable about the bays history.
The snorkelling is really something else - a complete ocean paradise. It has to be seen to be believed!
I would strongly recommend this tour as it was thoroughly enjoyable and really can't think of any way of improving it!
Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel to your Saves list