We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will always be our Hilo B&B destination. We had a great vacation here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15-782 Paradise Alakai, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Keaau B&B and Inns
Torrance, California
1 review
“This will always be our Hilo B&B destination. We had a great vacation here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Mary and Pat made us feel at home the moment we arrived. We stayed in the Bamboo room which was large with a beatiful walk-in rock floor shower. With a microwave and small refrigerator we were able to prepare our own meals and enjoy our evenings their quite and beautiful gardens. The breakfasts were a true luxury with ample fresh fruits from their gardens, homemade breads, egg and meat dishes along with juice and coffee. The view from the lani over the pool to the beaches was what we always envisioned in our dreams of the Big Island-spectacular! Each day Mary/Pat gave us information on the sights we wanted to visit/see which made our daily trips safe and enjoyable. We will stay there when we return to Hilo.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Ala Kai B&B is run by two wonderful women who have definitely mastered the art of B&B hostessing. The cottage we stayed in was more like a home and was stocked with just about everything you needed including a washer and dryer that was free to use.
They put out the most wonderful breakfasts every morning on the lanai overlooking the ocean. They even provided snorkels free of charge.
My husband and I had a great time staying at Ala Kai B&B and would definitely stay there again.
Vicky & Jim

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Ala Kai bed and breakfast is in a beautiful location in the Puna area very close to the ocean. Breakfasts are delicious and generous. The porch has an amazing view, whether in the morning of the ocean and sunrise, or at night to watch the stars... Mary, one of the owners, was very helpful and a great resource. I wish that I could have spent more time there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We love this island retreat, we go several times a year and always have a wonderful experience. Mary and Pat are great hosts . The breakfasts are to die for and the location is perfect. Every morning we walk across to the ocean and are mesmerized by the color and sound of the waves. We always stay in the Bamboo room, and appreciate the great amenities ( microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot ). There is nothing like going to sleep to the sound of the waves. The lanai and pool offer the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this place. Don't miss out on it. We highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I went with my husband and two twenty somethings. The view from the porch is fantastic. Mary and Pat serve glorious breakfasts. They don't intrude but provide snorkel gear, a swimming pool, local suggestions and a very friendly atmosphere. We were very pleased. The b and b has a cottage, a suite with its own bathroom and 2 bedrooms, and also downstairs bedrooms. Breakfast is served on the porch. We stayed a week and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We enjoyed this nice B&B at the sea very much. The owners Mary and Pat are very helpful and extremely friendly and offer you a georgeous breakfast on the lanai with a marvellous view over the ocean.
We had very nice rooms with beautiful quilts and a large clean bathroom. We received a lot of helpful advices and had wonderful picnics at the sea under the stars.

It would be always our choice for the next stay on thr island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This whole Ali Kai experience proved to have been nothing short of spectacular. The setting amongst the cascading palms is in view of the ocean where whales could be seen from the lenai. They instantly reminded us of their magnificance. The setting is perfect for relaxation and Pat and Mary couldn't do enough to make our stay more pleasant. They were a wealth of information as we planned our daily excursions. Cleanliness and accommodations could not have been better, nor could the food which included fresh fruit and baked goods daily. We continue to tell our friends of our wonder-filled experience and are lookig forward to the day when we can return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15-782 Paradise Alakai, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.