We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours - Private Tours
16-1340 39th Ave, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
509-690-8163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Keaau
Attraction details
Homewood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had Ken for the whole day of touring Hawaii. Great guide and very knowledgable. It was us and our two friends and Ken. Talk about a private tour! What is nice about using Marylou's is that they customize the tour for what you want to do. If we didn't feel like stopping somewhere we didn't and stayed longer somewhere else. Visited a few sights I had not seen on previous tours. We started at 8 a.m. and finished at 8 p.m. Ken was very flexible with everything. The cost was extremely reasonable. Would definitely use them again and would recommend them to everyone. Thanks Ken for a great day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We toured the island for two days with our tour guide Ken (Marylou's husband). Our first day was Hilo and the surrounding area. Ken took us to Volcano National Park, Akaka Park to see the waterfall and suggested other places we might like to see. Ken spent the day with us (6 guests in all) and had a fabulous time. The second day Ken met us (two of us) in Kilo and we toured that side of the island seeing things most tourists might not see. I cannot say enough about our experience as we are both still talking about it, The price is right; beats the ship prices for excursions; very knowledgeable about the island and listens to what your interests are. We went to one of the nicest botanical gardens I have ever been to and we were the only ones there!! We highly recommend this tour. paula & ken

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a great day with Ken today, he took us all over the Big Island, we saw turtles and had a great tour of the Volcano National Park. I can certainly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had a great time on the tour with Marylou. We were on a cruise and the cruise excursions didn't cover everything Marylou's Adventure did and it was much more cost effective. I couldn't believe how much we were able to do, and they made sure we got back to the cruise ship on time.

Marylou was really nice and very informative about the area and everything we did.

We saw the volcano, hiked down a beautiful path to the lava tube (but you could take the van if you were not able to walk). You do have to walk down to and through the lava tube and it is a beautiful walk. The lava tube was great.

We went to a waterfall that was beautiful.

We also hit the macadamia nut factory, the orchid garden, an fantastic coffee farm (the guy did a coffee info session and it was very informative and awesome cause we got to sample delicious coffee), and we even made it to the black sand beach.

At the macadamia nut factory we were able to buy lunch.

Marylou shared various types of macadamia nuts with us and some yummy white pinapple. She also provided us with water.

It was fabulous!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The only way to see the big island of Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Marylou's husband Ken did our tour . Not ever having been to Hawaii, we did not want to miss anything. Ken spent 7 hours with our group of 6 in the town of Hilo. He suggested things to see, do and eat and delighted us with both history and local Hawaiian culture stories. He had samples of some of Hawaii's foods to taste along the way. He greeted us with a flower corsage his wife made and ended our tour with a special tasty gift for each couple. He picked us up at cruise ship port and got us back to the ship,in plenty of time. We were so happy with his service that we had him meet us in Kona the next day to give us the tour there as well. Our only regret is that we could not take him with us for the rest of our stay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours - Private Tours also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.