We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Native Guide Hawaii

Native Guide Hawaii
Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
(808) 982–7575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Keaau
Attraction details
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Absolutely the best value of our trip. We had a wonderful time with Warren as he showed us around the park. We had a great time as Warren showed us things he obviously loves and finds fascinating. No question was too inane and none was met with uncertainty. We had a great time and his timing was incredible as we wandered the park. It was as if we were the only ones in the place for the most part. I can't recommend his service highly enough!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a fabulous day with Warren. He paced the day to suit our needs and showed us things that we would never have seen on our own. The lunch that he provided was excellent. Very memorable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path in Volcano National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

There is usually more to a story than meets the eye. With Warren as our guide, we visited several locations in the park that we would never have visited on our own and learned so much! Warren adjusts each tour based on the interests of his guests and their physical abilities - I have a special interest in trees and we walked to an oasis of trees and endangered plants surrounded by a lava field. He also accommodated my husband's special dietary requirements for our picnic lunch. All in all, we're glad that we spent the time with Warren as it deepened our appreciation of this very special and unique national park.

On the Native Guide Hawaii website, the trip duration states a 9:00 AM pickup with an approximate return time of 4:00 PM. In my confirming email, the pickup time was set for 9:30 AM at our lodging and we were ready to go at that time. We were actually picked up just after 10 AM and returned to our lodging around 3:10 PM. I only mention this because of expectations - I questioned him about it - and he basically said it is what it is.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Volcano Wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a fantastic time with Warren Costas. What a wonderful and insightful guide. It was nice having our own personal guide to show us the beauties of Volcano National park. We were able to get away from tour buses and go to places away from the touring crowds. We loved the Native prospective . We highly recommend Warren's services.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic Volcano Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a tour with Warren Costa, not knowing what to expect. Before you read anymore, the tour was fantastic!
There were three of us in our party. Warren picked us up from the airport at about 9:00am
His tour was seemed to be custom made for us, not a canned bus tour. We loved seeing tour buses with 50 people going to the tourist traps, then Warren took us to the places were the tour buses would not go. His knowledge of geology and friendly demeanor were amazing. The things that he showed us will be remembered forever. We all would recommend Warren Costa's Hawaiian Native Tour to anyone that would like a exciting tour of volcano national park.

message for Warren... "what do we do if it rains"?!? lol

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Guide Hawaii also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Native Guide Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Guide Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.