We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Save
You added Palm Villas at Mauna Lani to your Saves list
68-1376 S. Paunoa Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
Hotel amenities
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I didn't quite know what to expect with this accomodation as we were first timers to Hawaii and the Big Island. Wow it was beautiful. My only regret was we only had two nights at this beautiful villa, next time will go back for a week as i told the lady on checking out.
Its great value for money, large and well done to five star standard. We were in an F numbered villa opposite the pool complex which was empty a lot of the time, we enjoyed using the pool and spa to ourselves. Our villa had ample room for us and our 3 yr old. You could fit two couples and a couple of kids in these villas. The kitchen was amazing and had everything you need. Also was thrilled to find beach toys, boogie boards, umbrella... etc. And we loved the ensuite bathroom, best of our whole trip.
We were very comfortable here and did not want to leave.
The balcony overlooked the lava fields which was novel. Gorgeous grounds and gardens in this whole area. The beach was a bit of a walk through the interesting lava field and we had use of the beach club where we ended up the whole day at the lovely beach with great snorkelling. I saw a turtle! Also had lunch here and it was decently priced.
Overall highly recommend it but go for a week!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We found unit C-2 on VRBO, it is a three bedroom condo that is on the first floor next to the entrance to the waterfall pool and jacuzzi. Our family of 6 found the pool empty most of the time during our 10 day stay. The complex has lush landscape and a small fitness room. We chose this complex because it is a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to restaurants, shops and a market. The shops area also have a weekly hula show and Hawaiian crafts during the week, check schedule for details.
The owners of the condo were very pleasant to work with and attentive. The condo was very clean and exceeded our expectations. There were many little things that were included in the condo like: beach towels, coffee beans, soap, dishwasher soap, cooler for beach, beach chairs, toilet paper, etc.
We traveled to A Bay, Mauna Kea, Hapuna Beach, Black Sand Beach in the Golf Villas, and always liked the Private Beach Club best. It was so nice to have the borrowed beach club card access, where some could walk to the beach and others could drive with all the stuff. The beach club has chairs and covered cabanas for its guests. We never had to wait for chairs and liked knowing that there was a lifeguard on duty. My kids were able to learn to paddle board and had a great time building sand castles for their hermit crabs. We went snorkeling right off the beach and enjoyed the water clarity and extensive coral and fish. The beach club has a restaurant and bar that is open for lunch and dinner that we frequented numerous times during our stay.
In sum, I would return to this resort and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed in unit E-2. It was beautifully furnished, ground floor, and the pool was out the front door. We had many meals on the lanai. We could walk to the beach or drive and we could walk to the shops as well. There were people in the unit next to us but we never heard them. Many times we had the pool all to ourselves - I couldn't believe it! It was a terrific place to stay. We were here for 6 nights with kids 9, 11 and 14. Lots of beach toys and boogie boards available for our use, too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We've stayed at many places on the Kohala Coast over the years, but I have to say that the Palm Villas at Mauna Lani is the best for the price. We found the condo through VRBO. The whole complex is small and quiet. The owners of unit D1 made us feel like special guests. The lanai looks out over the nature preserve to gorgeous sunsets every night. The condo is beautifully decorated and has a great kitchen. Comfortable beds with nice sheets. Restaurants and grocery stores are close by. The Beach Club is a short 10 minute walk through the nature preserve and fish ponds. The snorkeling is fantastic! Our family will come back here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed in A building upstairs A-21. The owners are incredibly kind and considerate. Very easy to deal with and their place is absolutely perfect! We enjoyed ever single moment there and so did our little ones. The grounds were impeccable and the pool was great. Location to all attractions (minus Volcanoe National Park) were fairly close. I hope God wills for us to go back cause I am addicted!

Annabelle

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Just returned from the Big Island and a week's stay at the Palm Villas. Our 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo was perfect for our family of six: grandparents, parents, and two boys. We stayed at unit I-1 which we found through vrbo. There was no view of the ocean, but the grounds are well landscaped and we were close to the pool (which was hardly used the week we were there). Access to the Mauna Lani beach club was included; a short drive, the beach had small waves and good snorkelling as well as some shady areas and a small lawn. A walking path from just outside the condos leads through a lava field to the fish ponds and beach area - about 10 to 15 minutes to reach the ocean. The condo itself was clean, spacious, well-decorated, and well-equipped. We would go back in a second!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

My family spent one week in the Palm Villas H4 condo which is located in the Mauna Lani resort. The condo is a two story end unit that has three bedrooms and three full baths. The unit is probably a year old and is well appointed and furnished. The unit was well stocked with beach items such as beach towels and mats and household items like laundry detergent, dishwashing soap and etc.

The condo is located at the rear of the complex, overlooks the adjacent nature preserve, it is a very short walk the pool, a 15 minute walk to the Shops at Mauna Lani and a 10 minute walk to the beach. The Mauna Lani resort's grounds are not the most spectacular but are well maintained and peaceful. The fish ponds located next to the beach were serene, especially at sunset. The beaches at Mauna Lani are quiet, with low surf and very clear water. The beach at the Resort has very good snorkling.

If you want to boogie/skim board or surf these beaches are not for you. These beaches are about a 20 minute drive from the resort. The town of Kona is 30-45 minutes away depending on the time of day and the road construction activity.

Summary, unless you want a pounding surf beach within walking distance, this is a fantastic property and location on the Kona-Kamuela coast. Cheers!!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Villas at Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

Address: 68-1376 S. Paunoa Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Palm Villas At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Villas at Mauna Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.