We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hit and miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kamuela Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamuela Inn
Save
You added Kamuela Inn to your Saves list
65-1300 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Waimea B&B and Inns
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a hit and miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in awesome places and places that we had to tolerate. This one fit into the tolerable. We stayed in room 27 the first two nights, and noticed that it was outdated, no biggie it was spacious enough and clean, I have a clean barefoot carpet pet peeve, and all was good bare footed.

Lets move on to pushing the third night at at lower rate same motel, one word "nightmare" I walked in the door first while my husband went to do the final check in, I swung open the door hands loaded with items and noticed a strong odor masking spray. Well that lasted a few minutes. I immediately started having major allergy symptoms, my mold allergy is masked by nasonex, however, I have cat, dog, smoking allergies. By the way the room was rotting in a lot of areas and mold was coating the walls. We spent over an hour deciding whether to change rooms and once we did decide to change rooms, we spoke to David whom by the way is a gem informed us that there was non available! I started to search for my allergra. We roughed it out and checked out the following day. It's not all together a bad place to stay but make sure you do a room walk over before booking.

Aloha!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamuelaInn, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
This guest is unhappy because we were unable to extend the Trip Advisor Mobile App special through the weekend. They initially booked for 1 night, were upgraded from a standard to deluxe room. The next morning they extended another night, which took them into the weekend. The front desk graciously extended the TAMP upgrade. The next morning they extended another night. Unfortunately all deluxe rooms were pre-booked, and guests were advised that superior or kitchen rooms were available. They were unwilling to pay the difference, and chose to move to a standard room.

This property is 55 years old, and while we can't do much about the age of the facility, we do everything possible to keep the rooms, bedding, bathrooms, and flooring as clean as possible.
From time to time, we have guests who disrespect our no smoking in the rooms policy, and the use of disinfecting spray is necessary to help dispel the lingering odor of tobacco.

Our entire team has worked exceptionally hard to clean and maintain this property. We take great pride in the many compliments and positive feedback we get from our guests. Negative feedback helps us improve and focuses our efforts to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
43
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is very simple and very quiet, and seems to cater to the non-resort type of tourist. We booked last minute and received a warm reception. Waimea is at a higher elevation and it was actually a bit chilly at night. The room and bath are not swank, but its clean and comfy and a good value away from the beaches and the hectic pace, and you'll certainly get a good night's sleep. There is no swimming pool or other facilities. Breakfast was very good and substantial. Note; there are no gas stations between Waimea and the airport in Kona so fill your tank here.

Room Tip: The Inn is away from the street so all of the rooms should be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Kamuela Inn is located in the center of Big Island so that daytrips to Mauna Me, north coast and the area of Hilo are easily possible. Waimea has a lot of supermarkets, post office, restaurants - all that useful places to be well equipped for daytrips and have nice evenings.

We had a rather cheap room w/o kitchenette and thus the room was not fancy but ok. The bathroom could get new colour on the wall and carpets were not newest ones but overall it was clean and ok for less than 90$ including breakfast for two persons.

The breakfast was nice. Fresh fruits, lots of bagels, muffins, home made cookies and cake, waffles, oatmeal and cereals as well as coffee, juice and milk... So nothing to miss - just all served on and in plastics or paper...

In general this place is well located and ok for the money you pay it is just nothing personal or special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a family party in the area. Our party had 4 adults and 2 children and we stayed in the Executive Suite on the 2nd floor. The suite was spacious, cozy, cool country breezes and very peaceful. The only struggle was sharing 1 bathroom for 4 adults, but the full kitchen was convenient. Everything was clean and cozy. Staff were extremely friendly. Their free continental breakfast room was a gem. We enjoyed the stay very much. Kids loved the tree bench swing. A definite place we will return to again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved this place and will happily stay again.
We were in a quiet room which was clean, cute and had everything you could need. The breakfast was good and accomodating. I LOVED the local jams and butters on offer to try. Sooooo good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room is basic, bed is comfortable and there is free wifi. However, the breakfast was poor. We were there at the breakfast rom at 8 and the fresh fruit plate was empty except for 3 strawberries. Asked for replenishment and was told there was no more. Fruits on big Hawaii are cheap , so cannot understand why they couldn't replenish. It felt like breakfast items were rationed, no plastic knives for guests who came in later. They used forks to spread butter etc.

Apart from the experience at breakfast, the inn is a good option if you don't expect frills. The owner is very accommodating .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamuelaInn, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are disappointed that your breakfast experience was less than expected. We usually get rave reviews via guest survey forms for the generosity and quality of our continental breakfast. We serve a variety of locally-grown fruits to support our big island farmers and freshly baked goods. Your input is appreciated and will be reviewed with our staff for improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely and clean! Great pride of ownership... Nice breakfast, and a peaceful atmosphere. Highly recommended, uniquely Hawaiian. We stopped on our was from Hilo to Hawi and were pleasantly surprised. Much nicer than the chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamuela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Inn

Address: 65-1300 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Kamuela Hotel Waimea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamuela Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.