We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villages At Mauna Lani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villages At Mauna Lani to your Saves list
Villages At Mauna Lani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   68-1025 North Kaniku Drive, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Villages At Mauna Lani and had a great time. Beautiful home and property! We stayed in unit #321 and found it to be in perfect condition and it offered everything we needed for our stay. Our unit was through South Kohala Management and they made sure everything was perfect. Like others have said, it's close enough to the Shops At Mauna Lani so you can walk to the store or out to dinner. Also, being able to use the private Mauna Lani Beach Club was fantastic, we loved the beach so much we never even used the community swimming pool. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We discovered this area in 2006 & have returned every spring since with family. Each "condo" is actually a full-sized, beautiful, elegant home, attached by one wall, duplex style. We have rented several. (Owned by individual people, some units may be in better shape than others.) These are a huge cut above traditional condo rentals. The area is gated and next to a nice, small grocery store & other shops, including Tommy Bahama retail & restaurant. Within walking distance is the Fairmont Orchid, and the other direction is the peaceful Mauna Lani Resort. It is an easy drive to beaches & jungles. Much, much nicer than the Hilton Condo area. More like a home you would purchase if you could. The neighborhood is quiet and well-maintained. It has a mature, dignified feeling, & makes our yearly trip to the Big Island the perfect escape.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Last week we checked into condo 329 at the Villages and found it to be beautiful but poorly maintained. When we checked in the air conditioning had been on all day but it was 89 degrees in the condo. We had the management company come over to check it out and she finally agreed to bring an HVAC pro in that night even though it was time and a half. He found all the filters were totally plugged which was the main problem. That resolved the air issue.

We also found and showed the management company a smoke detector that was hanging from the ceiling with two wires and we don't know if it was functional or not. That was never fixed.

The master bath had a beautiful jacuzzi tub but the plug was pulled out and couldn't be re-engaged so the tub was useless.

Very nice kitchen with two drawer type dishwashers. The bottom one didn't work properly and wouldn't clean dishes. Very nich flat cooktop with directions to clean it only with special cleaner - of course there wasn't any there.

To sum it up.....management company should be fired by owner. Their value is being degraded.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We booked this condo through VRBO and saved about 40%. We received outstanding service.

This complex is located next to a fairly upscale shopping center that was in the process of opening (similar to Kings shops, or Shops at Wailea). It is a good walk to the Mauna Lani or the Fairmont, but we used the Fairmont's shuttle, which will pick you up at the shops and drop you at your condo for free. It is not an easy walk to the beach from the condos, but we would get there on our morning walks.

The complex is gated and has a decent pool and jacuzzi. The homes are essentiall duplexes, but they really feel like single family homes. Ours was 2700 sq feet plus three lanais and an attached two car garage.

There were two master suites, which is wonderful for couples traveling together: no one gets short changed. Each bathroom was beautiful, with marble, granite, etc, and rivaled some hotel rooms in size. The third bedroom had its own attached bath and walk in closet as well. Even the laundry ROOM--not just a closet--was gorgeous. My brother utilized the downsstairs built in desk which was basically his office for the trip.

The kitchen was beautiful with a subzero fridge, drawer sytle dishwasher and granite counter tops. On the lanai there was a built in stainless steel BBQ with a refrig that was OURS alone to use. We had peak ocean and golf course views.

We were a quick drive to some beautiful beaches (Hapuna, Mauna Kea) and we enjoyed some resort style amenities. You get to use the Beach Club which is basically access to a parking lot right next to a small beach with a restaurant on it, but we really liked it for a quick trip to a beach and we enjoyed the bar at the restaurant (Lava flows on the beach).

These condos were the nicest I have ever stayed in and I don't know if I can even think of a resort that had nicer accomodations. My family was thrilled with what I had booked. I would definately stay here again.

Disadvantages are that you aren't a quick walk to a great beach, but you are just minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villages At Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villages At Mauna Lani

Address: 68-1025 North Kaniku Drive, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villages At Mauna Lani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villages At Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villages At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villages At Mauna Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.