We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Na Pali Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na Pali Explorer

Na Pali Explorer
9841 Kaumualii Hwy, Waimea Area, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI
+1 808-338-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 18 Activities in Waimea
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Tours, Sunset Cruises, and plenty of amazing Sightseeing on our "Zodiac" style boats. Daily tours on the coastal waters of Kauai. Don't forget to check out deep sea fishing with Explore Kauai Sportfishing, part of the Na Pali Explorer family.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Calabasas, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Best Na Pali Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Touring the Na Pali coast is a must, unless the weather is uncooperative. The waves can be pretty intense, so you need to know your limits. If it's summer, it's generally not an issue at all. If winter, just watch the conditions and pick a day where the waters are relatively calm. The coast is unlike anything you see, and with any beautiful scenery, pictures can never come close to capturing how breathtaking it is.

The Na Pali Explorer is the best. Like all of the tours, there is office is in a little run down store, but the boats are the best. The Catamarans of other tours look very cool and pretty, but they are not very comfortable. As big as they are, not a lot of places to sit. The Zodiacs look less impressive, but are quite comfortable. More importantly, they can get into spots the Cats cannot, and they zip along the water very smoothly. I personally get a little seasick. If you sit at the back of these boats, it's really, really smooth.

It's a family owned business and they are very nice. The main captain, Sean, is awesome. He actually was the assistant when we went out with this company 10 years ago.

You will not regret this trip and this company.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    9
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much more than we expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We headed about the Na Pali Explorer II on the last day of our trip. The weather was pristine, and the wales and dolphins were out in full form. The entire coastline was breathtaking, and you could not see it any other way. I really appreciated getting a tour by a native Hawaiian. You felt a part of the history and I enjoyed his stories.

Something to think about if you decide to take a trip with them: The saltspray permeates cameras and cell phones. They do offer underwater cameras for $20 at the office, or you can bring a cheapie disposable one, or three. I used up all of my 27 pictures on dolphins and whales in the first hour of the trip. So, I wish I had either brought my nice camera and put it in a ziploc bag, or bought a few cheap disposables to use. I would have liked to have brought my iphone in a bag too, for the video option. It was a bit disappointing to not have very many photos of that awesome day. But, I got to just sit and enjoy it, instead of worrying about getting good pictures, which is also great.

They served a simple lunch of rice, chicken and salty pork. But there is a vegetarian option as well. (Eat a good breakfast for sure.) There were plenty of drinks on board: water and pop (included). So, just bring yourself, a camera and load up on sunscreen before you get on the boat.

It had stormed for two days before our trip, so the water was still pretty murky and we didn't get to snorkel. But, even without that, it was a spectacular trip. Captain Sean and First Mate Kyle were a great duo. During the ride, we got plenty of chat time with both of them to ask questions and talk about the island. It was a wonderful experience. I would recommend it to everyone.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Na'pali coast is a cant miss experience and loved seeing each and every time.. The staff is friendly and very helpfull and keep the information going on the boat ride down.. Did a combo snorkelling and NaPali coast tour. Spent a good part of the day on the water (bring lots of sunscreen) and LOVED it.. Amazing group and fun for all

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dolphins and turtles and Whales... oh my!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We took the Napali Explorer tour on the Explorer II and had a great time! Capt Sean and first mate Dennis were a pleasure and were also very funny! the irde itself is pretty tame...we did not go super fast and they did not play loud music...so don't go expecting thast. The raft is about 45" long and offers some shade. We saw hundreds of dolphins they surrounded us a nd ver putting on a great show! We also saw lots of whales PLUS got a great close up view of the Napali coast. conditions were great so Capt Sean even wnet into a sea cave wich was way cool!
If you are looking for high speed action and speed, this is not the tour for you...but if you want a raft expereience wherer you can get up close and personal with marine life then this is the tour for you! Nothing fancy but just fun!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They suck.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

When you call to book a trip and they say the weather is showing variable. You should go on line and check it your self. Also when booking be sure to ask how much passengers are on the boat. If over 25 don't go. You will be uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Pali Explorer also viewed

 

Been to Na Pali Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Pali Explorer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.