We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Style Cafe

Hawaiian Style Cafe
65-1290 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808 885 4295
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Waimea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Don't miss this local experience. Fabulous food. Great prices. Friendly staff. Fabulous food. Great prices. Friendly staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    125
    34
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good food with huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our friends told us that we had to go to the Hawaiian Stye Cafe. The family style cafe truly lives up to our expectations. We now go there each time when we visit the Big Island. The place is not fancy but the food is good and the portions are big. The pancakes literally cover the entire plate. Awesome home-cooked style restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This is where the locals eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Although some may think the Hawaiian Style Cafe is a little rough around the edges, it is a working mans diner in a cattle ranching town "Parker Ranch". You won't leave here hungry, the portions are huge. I had the loco moko 2 scoops rice, 2 grilled burgers, brown gravy, onions, topped with a fried egg.
This would have easily been 2 meals but I struggled through. My friend got the French toast, and a side of pineapple sausage, which she couldn't finish. Thanks to the waitress throwing in a couple slices of bread we had sausage sandwiches later on the road.
This is a great place to eat especially when going to the other side of the island.
Huge portions, good prices, good atmosphere

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“da best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

so much food, good people. just make sure you can eat plenty if you are going to order the pan-cakes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rediculously sized portions, really great seating, be prepared for a wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is popular even at quiet times, and I can see why - the food comes in huge portions, very nice selection and all freshly cooked to order. Best of all are the prices, they are rock bottom!

A great place to stop off for breakfast if heading to the north of the island, but don't expect to get a seat right away as we frequently had to wait for a seat; Speaking of seats, the bar-style seating arrangement is really great and unusual.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Style Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.