We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a chilled environment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Organic Cuisine - CLOSED

Saffron Organic Cuisine
65-1259 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Organic cuisine, has replaced Daniel Thiebaut's resteraunt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food in a chilled environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came here by pure chance, and it was a great dining experience.
The menu is very original, we both started with a Strawberry salad.
Then I had Pomegranate Chicken Breast and he the special of the day, some seared Ono served with rice and wok tossed organic veggies.
Everything very tasty and fresh

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“an unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We weren't sure about the place at first, but it's set in a very hold inn that has been in existence since the 1920s. They have a few original checks on the wall dating back to the 1930s and the original bar. The floors are clearly original also and the place has a quaint and charming interior.

We are a family of mostly vegetarians and selected the restaurant on a drive by based just on its name. They serve mostly organic dishes with locally sourced ingredients. My husband enjoyed the local beef and felt that it did taste different than the grain fed beef we get on the mainland.

I had the flatbread pizza since they were out of the fantastic sounding eggplant napolean and it was very good. My dad had the freshmade pasta and of course I snagged a bite. It was also very good, although less complex.

I don't think it's a great place to take very young children, but my two-yr.-old did ok. It's a nice place for a romantic dinner, though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A business gathering with luncheon of celebration of a long career”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had our own room on the side and the crowd spilled over, with banquet style eating and the food ran out as did the iced tea, etc. Salad was fair, chicken OK, fish dead, other stuff fair to avg. Nice old place with clean restrooms and lots of parking, ck the back if the front is full. I would hope that the next time I go again the food will be better since they seem to be just getting going.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The owner is struggling to get this right. I think he would rather come out to great guest and talk about himself than to inquire how he can improve the food and service. Very few patrons were there when we dined that should have warned us of the pending meal. The food is not terrible but probably not worth the drive unless you are staying in Waimea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Strange experience, far too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stopped there since this place seemed to be the only one still serving food at that hour. (9 PM or so).

The place : I ate in an empty room, looking through a window without glass into another room where drunk men were dancing with drunk women to the same tango tune, which was repeated over and over again. Truly weird atmosphere, believe me...

The food : 32 $ for inferior fish which was boiled far too dry, with a very heavy sauce tasting like it came out of a sacket. That's not what you could call a bargain.

This is the only place ever where I couldn't make myself to give a tip. They had ripped me off enough I suppose...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Organic Cuisine also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Organic Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.