We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the WORST Chinese food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant

Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant
65-1158 Mamalahoa Highway, #5, Waimea Center, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808-887-1788
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 64 Restaurants in Waimea
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: We have over 100 items on menu and lunch buffet monday to fridayand dinner buffet on sataudays. we can custom make any dish for our customers with special request or needs. We use all local vegetabls and all food are made with No MSG.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the WORST Chinese food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Filthy table clothes should have been enough of a clue this was a bad restaurant. But we gave it a chance. One couple walked out as soon as they saw their food. We probably should've done the same. All the food seemed to be warmed up left overs from the buffet. Yuck! The broccoli seemed to be an afterthought to some of the dishes because it wasn't fully cooked. To top it off, they did not have fortune cookies. Who ever heard of a Chinese restaurant that doesn't have fortune cookies?? Being on "restaurant row" in Waimea, we should've picked a different restaurant. Any other establishment probably would've been better than this one. The service wasn't bad (only us and one other party in the restaurant), and the prices were fairly reasonable, but the food was awful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marborough, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wished I had read Susie6505's review prior to taking a chance on this restaurant. There was one waitress running her tail off while the female owner was constantly pointing at her to complete various tasks. Had I visited the Ladies' room first, I would have insisted we leave - unfortunately, we had already placed our order when I had the experience of having my feet stick to the bathroom floor - there was actually a small kitchen table and chairs in the Ladies' room!?! The spring rolls tasted like cardboard deep fried in oil that should have been changed out long before. The rest of our various food choices were just "edible". I'm not usually fussy when someone else is cooking for me and tasked with cleaning up afterward, but this was not at all enjoyable. I rarely complain publicly but, to the dismay of my kids, chose to offer comments to the female owner. She insisted that "everyone's spring rolls are different" - true, some are actually GOOD. I received a blank stare when I mentioned the filthy bathroom. Never a mention about feeling bad that our experience had been a poor one. Thank goodness I couldn't see in the kitchen!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint David, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre Chinese Fare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Shabby, slightly dirty, and drab Chinese restaurant in a strip mall. Food was inferior. Service OK but you would probably be better off trying the Thai or Italian joints next door in the strip mall if you are looking for a meal in Waimea. There are not many restaurant choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good meal, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The place we had planned to eat was next door and out of business. So we decided on Chinese next door. The lemon chicken was really good and came with hot and sour soup which was really good. Most lunches were $10 and under. They also have a lunch buffet, which has several selections and is also $10. Staff was kind and attentive. At the cash register, they were selling packages of Chinese pretzels which were $3 for 5 large pretzels, a crunchy sweet surprise at the end of the meal. Everything in the place was clean as well. A most pleasant surprise, hopefully they will be successful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Food Quality--Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It seems that ownership has changed and, unfortunately, there is a new chef. The food is not nearly as good as it used to be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.