We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kona Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimea Coffee Company

Waimea Coffee Company
65-1279 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808.885.8915
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Waimea
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Food: We use the freshest ingredients available, in most cases, farmed right here on the big island. We have an herb garden out back which we use to make all of our own homemade soups and sauces. We shop at the local farmers markets for many ingredients. We care about what goes into our bodies and our community! This means we don't believe in microwaves, GMO foods, or artificial flavorings. We do believe in organic, local, and gluten free alternatives. We believe that fresh foods are better for all of us. All produce and baked goods are sourced locally! Come check us out :) Coffee and Tea: We have friendly, knowledgeable baristas here to craft you a delicious beverage. We use cold brewed coffee as our iced coffee. We feature our islands best coffees, available for personal pour overs and french presses. We also have 100% organic and local teas available for those who do not like coffee :)
Cherryville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kona Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the coffee. VERY expensive. Don't ask for room for cream. They don't fill the cup up anyway. The scones muffins and breakfast sandwiches are really good. This was our morning ritual. Friendly staff. Good service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“superb cafe mocha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Waimea Coffee Company made one of the best cafe mochas we had on the Big Island. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just okay..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our hotel concierge recommended we stop by here for a quick breakfast on the way to the volcano. Wow, this place was so slow, and the food was just okay. The eggs in my breakfast sandwich were either fake or microwaved. We agreed we would have been better off stopping by the McDonalds that was a minute further down the road. I did not try the coffee which seems to be the attraction of this place, but it's just not a great pick for a quick breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Really great coffee is what you can expect here. We also enjoyed some delicious meals, snacks and such. The atmosphere here is conducive to lingering and conversation. Take your time and enjoy. You can also enjoy brousing in the attractive shops just outside and beside. We loved sitting outside at the little tables they have provided. Charming!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Max!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Although the food is tasty, the service is inadequate! Visited 3 times and all 3 times, there was a mistake on my order. Still gave the place a chance because it's in my home town & I wanted to support my local business. The last draw was a phone in order I tryed to place to pick up on my way to work. "Max" asked me to hold on and never came back to the phone. Instead the receiver was placed on the counter while Max serviced his walk in customers, shared stories of what he did the previous night to his coworkers & what sounded like him doing a drum solo on the counter..... why did I not hang up? Because I gave him the benefit of the doubt & hung on for 17 minutes, hopeing he would realize I was on the phone. It became silent & that's when I knew he realized I was still on the phone. He just hung it up. I called back & he had no words. Just a uhh,um,yeah. Really Max. Learn some customer service! If you want to talk like a surfer, go surf. Don't mess up your owners reputation. Now your mess up is on trip advisor, you have lost me as a customer & yes, I will tell everyone I know.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Coffee Company also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waimea Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimea Coffee Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.