We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Beach away from the Crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer Beach Park

Spencer Beach Park
Highway 270, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Waimea
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lakeville, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Beach away from the Crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We chosoe this beach on an extremely windy day (our snorkling trip was cancelled) but our Pre-Schooler still wanted to play in the ocean.

We were able to find some nice shade on the northern end of the breach and some tables for a lunch picnic.

Great spot for some time in water on a windy day without the waves.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family oriented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A protected beach, great picnic, camping and restrooms. Great for small children!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“lovely quiet beach for swimming snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

weenjoyed an entire day at this calm beach. We liked the calm surf and tree lined beach. There is permitted camping at this beach so it was busy with tents.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acampo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great beach to hangout on, but snorkeling was poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

The only main issue I had was that the silt was thick and the water clarity as a result was poor. I would imagine that on a calm day, this could be a great spot, but this side of the island always has some wind

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

we stopped here on our way between Waimea and Kailua for some snorkeling. lots of families there but plenty of room for everybody

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer Beach Park also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Spencer Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.