We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Water Cafe

The Red Water Cafe
65-1299 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743 (Formerly Fujimamas)
+1 808-885-9299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Waimea
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Asian Inspired cuisine with Sushi. Floor seating, lounge and outdoor al fresco dining.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Interesting menu with an eclectic mix of items. Bartender creates her own specialties and will also mix to order. Our meals and drinks were delicious. Quiet music. Very attentive wait staff. A great place to have a conversation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Very good for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good choice for lunch on your way from the Kona side to Hilo (or vice versa). The Asian-style "big bowl" noodle-based seafood soup is very good, but really should come with the bock chou that my wife had to ask for -- and got charged an extra 50 cents for. My burger was ordered medium rare and came medium well, but no big deal. Service was a bit abrupt, but they were quite busy that afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Red Water Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A very splendid spot. It is worth the drive up to Waimea. The salads on the menu were varied and all looked great and tasted even better when they arrived. Unfortunately the pork tenderloin that I ordered was somewhat overdone, but the coconut cream sauce made up for it!
I would definitely recommend this spot. The service was very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The ambiance of the Red Water Cafe in Waimea reflects the casual laid back atmosphere of Hawaii's Big Island. We started with a sushi roll appetizer that was truly delicious. Even my discerning Japanese wife thought it was quite excellent. We followed that up with dinner sized salads that were really tasty and unique in their compositions of locally grown leafy vegetables complemented with either cheeses, calamari or nuts. The main courses were pork filets or catch of the day. We found the pork tasty but a little over cooked. The catch was a white fish with a terrific salsa type sauce. We finished dinner with a macadamia nut creme brulee that we highly recommend for those with a sweet tooth. Throughout the dinner the service was friendly and cheerful. All in all it was a most pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I'd give it 6 Stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is my fourth trip to Hawaii, second extended stay on the big Island. As much is I love the islands, I hate eating there because I seldom get a really good meal and almost always feel ripped off. Dining out in Hawaii is normally what I call a ABV: Appallingly Bad Value. It seems that dinners are an endless parade of macadamia encrusted something, overcooked and prepared and served by Folks who know you are a tourist whom they will probably never see again.

Not the Redwater Café.This is one of the best meals I have next last five years, and that includes trips to Italy France, Spain, and Greece. We went because the menu looked very interesting, but we never got to the menu because the chef's evening specials were so enticing: hamachi, not in the typical sashimi presentation, but the neck of the fish, grilled. It was finger lickin' good. Our mains were a perfectly seared Ono in a beautiful and complex presentation and the best duck dish I have ever had: rare breast and the leg confit in another amazingly complex preparation. Desert was outstanding creme brulee. The bill with two drinks and a 20% tip was $140, and THIS was excellent value.

And oh yes: When they first seat you they give you a give bowl of steamed edame coated in a garlicky very spicy thai chile sauce - we couldn't stop eating it. Atmosphere is very comfortable down-home Big Island with a very pleasant and non intrusive acoustic guitarist. And you do need a reservation. The place is packed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Water Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Red Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Water Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.