We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant impossible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paniolo Country Inn

Paniolo Country Inn
65-1214 Lindsey Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8438
808-885-4377
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 65 Restaurants in Waimea
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant impossible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just like the restaurants on the tv show this place is in need of help. First the decor is worn out early 70s.

We walk in and the staff ignored us for 5 minutes or so....they were busy looking at a computer. Finally when no one helped us, the manager or owner who was sitting at the back of restaurant yelled for us to sit wherever we wanted.

After a long while a server came to take our order and was about as friendly as a rock. Nothing against rocks though. While waiting, two tables of customers left for lack of service. We should have taken this as a sign, but didn't, which was a bad move on our part. We asked about a beer and we're told we would need get up and go back to the front of the restaurant and read the beer list board. After another long while the food came and I would put it on par with my high school cafeteria, no on second thought, high school was better.

You don't come across these places much because the restaurant business is so competitive, but the service and staff in this place was so bad it really was entertaining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    21
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fine for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stopped in here for breakfast on the way over to the east side of the island. Breakfast was reasonable and tasty and the service was friendly but the restaurant looks worn out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We ate breakfast here on 2 occasions - nice local breakfast eatery.

Down to earth prices, good food and friendly service -- frequented by many of the locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hamburger in the heart of the Big Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

As we ventured back from Hilo to Kona, we discovered this local restaurant. I indulged in a hamburger and my friends went for fish. We all enjoyed the good food, service and prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service, average family dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have eaten here many times. Our favorite is the mexican food. They usually have fast service and we can eat after the beach and go home. Sit down style with friendly people. Prices are good considering it is in a resort town area. Sometimes Hawaiian music live is playing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paniolo Country Inn also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Paniolo Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paniolo Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.