We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folks make a difference !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Waimea Country Lodge to your Saves list
Castle Waimea Country Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65-1210 Lindsey Road, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
Deerfield, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly folks make a difference !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Although the room was aged and the water system sometimes not hot ... still the location in comfortable Hill side Waimea and wonderful friendly people who worked there coupled with the tourist friendly prices made this experience very positive ... definitely not a 4 star accommodation but there are times when 2 or 3 stars do fine and you live to spend more later .. Personally I would and do recommend the place for people seeking reality instead of opulence as from here you can access the most fantastic beaches and Resorts bu not have to pay 4 Star prices... units are big , clean , with comfortable beds , well stocked with pots and cutlery and soap for dishes , ample parking and quiet place on a main road with many shops , restrauants and supermarket near by ...

Room Tip: generally all similar I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    10
    16
    22
See reviews for
16
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Price matters...so we opted for this property for an overnight place to stay while we were in town for funeral services.

Your standards for a dump will be redefined once you checkin.

The service was minimal. The front desk was terse with limited hours of service.

A roach...a cranky guest next door...and a poorly maintained facility...all that was missing was the hooker at the curb.

There is no value here. Do yourself a favor...spend a little more.

I work in the airline industry...I'll be adding this to my oh-no category.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Yes, this property is old and seventies but it is kept scrupulously clean and the warm service provided by Doreen was a delight. True Hawaiian welcome and hospitality; I felt honored. My stay was in June so it is telling that I still wanted to write this review (it is now September) to bring some credit to good old fashioned service and warmth. Doreen is a treasure and made the stay a real lovely experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs are quieter with more privacy and windows look to the mountains across an open field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Castle Resorts should be ashamed they haven't taken cared of this place!!! When I walked into the room I had an immediate flashback of traveling as a kid with my family in the seventies. Everything is very old and outdated. The first room we were given was horrible. It stank of cigarettes, the lamp was broken (lightbulb socket hanging off the base!) and there was a small HOLE in the wall!! I suspect the cigarette smell came from the old carpet, drapes, mattresses and everything else that's old in that room. I asked for another room and the cigarette smell wasn't as strong in this one so was slightly better. The beds and bathroom were VERY clean and shampoo/conditioner and soap are provided, but the single upholstered chair in the room was so filthy it looked like something that was picked up from the dump. Waimea is usually very cool so there isn't any a/c which is fine, but the fan was also very filthy and we were afraid to turn it on. At least the window opened so we got fresh air. We live on the island so got the local discount rate, but if we had to pay full price we would have been sooooooo upset! The first floor rooms are not worth more than $55-$60 a night if even that. I heard the second floor rooms are better but those come with what's labeled as a kitchenette (small fridge and sink in a closet) so cost more. If you're on a budget or want a cheap one-night place to stay I guess this place will do.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room though you may have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

You get what you pay for here. At less than half the average hotel rate in Waimea, this hotel is a good option for people traveling on a budget. If that is your expectation, then you'll be happy. If you think you're going to be at a nice resort, you will be very disappointed.

I read the reviews and knew what we were getting into--this hotel is very dated and kind of falling apart (the veneer on our bathroom door was peeling, we had old stains on the floors, the sheets were getting worn). Old and tired as the room was, it was spotlessly clean. I'd rather have an old, clean room than a fancy, dirty one! And the staff is wonderful. They were full of very helpful advice about things to do and places to eat. I really enjoyed my "talk story" time with them every day.

Should you stay here? Depends on what you're looking for. We ended our 2 week vacation with 3 nights in Waimea. We chose to spend less on the hotel room so that we could go to nice restaurants and do some diving. It was nice to be able to walk to restaurants after 11 days of having to drive everywhere! Waimea is a very cute town, and this hotel puts you right in the center of it. It's a 20 minute drive to Hapuna beach, so if you want to tumble out the door to the beach, this is not the place.

The other guests seemed to mostly be Big Island business travelers and younger (20-something) people. But it was quiet and friendly. Under the same set of circumstances, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I paid $94.00 (108.88 with taxes) for a weekday night with a AAA discount. The hotel proudly provides internet for an additional $9.95 per night. Due to a maintenance issue, our room was upgraded to a kitchenette, which makes that price a little bit more bearable, but only slightly. I have stayed in a lot of motels and unfortunately this one is on par with some of the most decrepit I have come across in the US. The motel has promise. It has high vaulted wood ceilings and nice views out the back window. But it feels like it has been neglected for many years. The staff was friendly, our linens were clean, we were provided with real glasses (rather than disposable), and the kitchen appliances appeared to be new. But… our bed was ancient (sagging in the middle), the sheets were too short, which meant my feet touched mattress (something I hate), and we were provided with just one dim light to read by. There was no overhead light or light on either side of the bed. Considering it rained during the duration of our time in Waimea, it would have been nice to be able to see in our hotel room. The curtains were disintegrating and so was the bathroom floor. There were crushed spiders on the bathroom window ledge and things that past guests had forgotten under the bed. We were provided with a plug in fan that did not work. Luckily, the room had good cross ventilation but it would have been nice to have the fan in the middle of the night when semi trucks rolled past the hotel, which is situated at a major intersection in Waimea. A fan would also have helped distribute the pervasive thick smell that I would describe as stale air freshener, which was overpowering whenever the wind stopped blowing fresh air through our room. I understand that there are not many places to stay in Waimea; this might help explain how this hotel is able to charge close to $100 per night. I was disappointed, particularly considering that this is a hotel that is not an independent establishment but part of an international company. I think that Castle Resorts & Hotels should be ashamed that they have let this hotel slide into its current state.

Room Tip: Stay close to the office if you can. That's a bit further away from the highway. Make sure you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The reviews of this place are pretty horrible, so we only picked it because there were no other options less than $200/night. But we were pleasantly surprised.

You need to set your expectations appropriately: this is an old hotel that hasn't been renovated recently. So the carpets and linoleum are worn, and there are a few small stains on the carpet that have accumulated over the years. The mirrors also have small specks on them where the silver backing has come off.

But the basics are there. The rooms are large, the linens are clean, and the beds are comfortable. All of the plumbing and lights worked just fine and the shower was nice and hot.

If you get an upstairs room, with the high peaked wood ceiling, it's actually pretty nice.

The desk staff was very polite and helpful.

Downsides: (1) WiFi is $10/night - so we just used our cell phones. (2) No A/C, but the room has a small portable fan. We set it up in the window to pull in cool air from outside, which worked great. (3) Walls are a bit thin, so if you had noisy neighbors, it might be a problem, as others have commented. We could tell that there were people next door but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have beautiful high wood ceilings and nice views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Waimea Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Address: 65-1210 Lindsey Road, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Waimea Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waimea Country Lodge is a rustic 21-room lodge located in historic Waimea Ton, the center of Paniolo (Hawaii cowboy) country. Amid cool air and rolling grasslands, the lodge offers spacious rooms, studios with kitchenettes and a friendly "down home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Waimea Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waimea Country Hotel Waimea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Waimea Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.